Just goin with it


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

temple of hephaestustemple of hephaestustemple of hephaestus

thats right, the temples of zues may be crumbling and fallen over but hephaestus still stands strong
I woke up feeling very disoriented and confused. Where was I? I had bouight a ticket to Corinth, whcih I had passed through briefly on my way to Naplio, and this definatly wasnt corinth. I got off the bus to have a look around and see if I could figure it out and saw my big backpack lying on the sidewalk amongst a pile of luggage that had come from the bellie of the bus. Whereever this was it was the end of the line. I strapped the green monster on my back and began the investigation.

Turns out that I was in Athens, which was fine by me. I was planning on going there anyway, I was just going to take a train from corinth in an effort to savemyself a couple of bucks. Seems that nobady noticed that I had traveld twice the distence on bus for a ticket that was half the price. Awsome! I maneged to find a hostel with relitive ease and dumped my luggage and began the act, now ritual for me, of getting compleatly lost in this ancient new city. So for hours I wanderd aimlessly soaking whatever random sights came my way, thinking from time to time about the story I had just heard that mourning from the polish girl about how somebody had attacked her in athens with a jig saw.

I was sevral albums of mp3s in when I saw it, shimmering in the distence like a mirage. I almost didnt belive it. Starbucks! I ran up imeadiatly to the only franchize I have sold my soul to and got my customary tall dark coffee, in a to go cup, one of the creature comforts that I miss from home. After a Coffee and a Gyros, which i have been living off of for days, I decided that Mabey it was time to get back to the hostel and asked a greek woman for directions on how to get to the acropololis, which was wher my hostel was by. She was shocked that I intended to walk there from where I was.

The rest of the day was taken up by wandering the streets with an american who had drank the better part of a bottle of absinth, and was acting very amerincan. I couldnt think of a better steriotype, and shutterd as tI though about him giving the rest of the people from his country, and the rest of north america as HE barked at dogs, and threw his garbage in to the street.

Yesturday I lucked out and saw many of the sights including the ancient agora, the temple of hephistus and the acroplis all for free. For some reason they were letting people in for free to the sights. All of it was fantastic. I dont even know how I can describe the feeling i had standing before the massive and impressively preserved temple of hephistus, god of fire, the forge, blacksmithing and craftsmenshiop in general. I felt I shuold light a candle or something symbolic for my favroit god.

In the late afternoon I bought a cheap bottle of wine and hung out in the hostle wiht a bunch of canadians and ausies that I had met erlier and the festivities continud on into the night, more or les leaving today as write off, but one that was well worth it. besides I have ooddles of time in Athens and I have no doudt that I will take this city for all its worth. Tommorw I take a ferry to the Island of Mykonos, where I will spend 3 nights before comming back to Athens, which will serve as a Home base for other day trips untill I fly back to london.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

temple of olympian zuestemple of olympian zues
temple of olympian zues

hephaestus probably knocked it over with his hammer "thats for throwing me down from mount olympus and giving me this bum leg" Pic up a mythology book if you dont know what im talking about
the prison of socrates the prison of socrates
the prison of socrates

thats just what they call it, they dont really know if he was kept there
athenian sprwal, all the way to the agiean sea athenian sprwal, all the way to the agiean sea
athenian sprwal, all the way to the agiean sea

thats just what they call it, they dont really know if he was kept there
a sexy sparten a sexy sparten
a sexy sparten

these helmets were bad ass, but i wasnt going to pay 500 euros for one


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb