A few last minute loose ends and homeward bound!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Glyfa
August 8th 2011
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I set the alarm for 9am thankfully! We got up and went down to get breakfast before checking out and loading up the car.<span><span> Breakfast seemed to take forever and I was getting antsy knowing that we had to take all the suitcases to the airport, get it checked in and then still go drop the car back off at Maria's house.

With all the luggage in the car Steve didn’t fit so he grabbed a taxi and Rachel and I jumped in the car and followed them to the airport.<span> Holy expensive cab ride at 35€!<span> So we unloaded all the suitcases onto the curb and I went to park the car in the short term parking lot. I found the lot no problem and I've got to say the system they use is pretty cool.<span> A camera takes a photo of your license plate when you take your ticket on the way in and when you go out the exit you enter your ticket and the machine takes another photo of your plate and compares the two to make sure you are not stealing a car or scamming the system. I<span> jogged back up to meet Rachel and Steve and I was in such a hurry that I ran right by Rachel without even seeing her!<span> Luckily Steve was coming towards me with some bottled water and he flagged me down.

So we found the Swiss Air line (not easy as it wasn’t marked well) and then waited about 45 minutes for the counter to open.<span> Okay so now I’m starting to really worry about our chances of making the flight.<span> Bags finally checked -They had to verify and re-verify that we were allowed 2 suitcases each and all came in at or under the weight limit – Yay!!

We dashed off to the car and had some trouble entering Mary’s address into the GPS.<span> Steve kept trying Athens as the city and then couldn’t find her street.<span> We tried for probably 10 minutes and were starting to freak out a little when I suddenly have the thought to enter Mary’s Athen's suburb as the town and thankfully it worked. We drove straight to Mary’s house with no problems.<span> Right before we get to her street we passed a rotary with taxis, so we parked the car literally in the exact spot where we picked it up, grabbed our hand luggage and made our way briskly back to the rotary.<span> I hailed one of the taxis just as it was pulling away and we jumped in.<span> We had no cash left on us as I put our last 40€ in the Nissan so we had the driver swing by an ATM.

We got back to the airport with a little more than an hour to spare and headed straight for security.<span> I forgot Steve had my camera bag and they made him take the whole bag apart.<span> He then gave it to me to reassemble - Argh thanks.<span> I wanted to get more cheese or spinach pie and Steve told me to wait until we get to the gate area and of course my luck there wasn't any food at the gate area.<span> So Steve bought me some oregano chips, not quite the same!!<span> Even with the white toffee thrown in.<span> Lol

We only sat for a few minutes and they began boarding our flight.<span> Steve now decided that it’s a good time to start making phone calls to say goodbye.<span> I was super anxious that I wouldn’t find overhead bin space so I - and this is how Steve put it – “abandoned the wolf pack” Lol at the Hangover movie reference.<span> The flights must have pretty uneventful because I don’t really remember them!<span> We got to Logan and reclaimed our luggage and met Magda, who picked us up with Steve’s truck, outside.

Beside a few ups and downs; Overall we had a fun and awesome trip to fabulous Greece. Our trip started out in Athens where we visited some of Steve and Rachel's family and saw lots of the famous historical sites. We got to spend time in the gorgeous Cycladic islands which was pure vacation beachy fun in the sun time. We also journeyed to the Northern Greek villages of Mikrokastro and Megaro where Steve and Rachel's families come from stopping at the amazing site of Delphi. We finished up our trip by heading back to the Athens beach area of Glyfada where we soaked up more of the warm Greek sunshine before heading home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb