THE Bauhaus in Dessau.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony-Anhalt » Dessau
September 28th 2013
Published: October 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's Saturday morning at 8 am and I couldn't be happier! I was off to Dessau, Germany to see the great Bauhaus. The Bauhaus is the school that really took a huge step in art and architecture. It helped form the fundamentals and ideas of Graphic Design of the 20th century. As a Graphic Design Major, I had to take a semester course dedicated to Graphic Design and a large part of it focused on this school and the artist from it. It was such a dream come true to just stand next to the building. I can not even imagine what my face looked like when I learned I could go inside and walk around.

When we first drove past the building, I became overwhelmed with more excitement while staring out the window repeating, "That's it." and "I'm at the Bauhaus". We quickly found a place to park and jumped out of the car and started walking to the building. I just kept taking pictures of the building while walking towards it. I finally handed the camera to my Dad and literally skipped and ran to the famous typographic sign. We took multiple pictures in this moment and decided to walk around the building to take more pictures. As we started to turn one corner towards the catwalk, we saw open doors which once again made me walk a lot faster.

As we entered the doors we saw a sign advertising spending the night in the Bauhaus, but unfortunately we already had a hostel in Berlin waiting for us. We went inside and immediately walked to the first open door that happened to be the gift shop. It was filled with books about the Bauhaus, Artist, Typography, and Graphic Design elements. I knew I had to buy something so I bought a calendar full of 365 different typefaces. The sad part is how excited I am to open that calendar on January 1st.

We then bought tickets to enter a museum in the basement that had a video describing the life of the three different Bauhaus Schools along with works that were created by famous students and professors. There was also another room that explained where multiple students and professors went when the Bauhaus was shut down. It was exciting to see that one went to the Chicago Art Institute to continue to study.

We then walked around every part of the building that had an unlocked door because I was not ready to leave. We finally headed outside where I sat on the sidewalk and just stared at the building while my Dad decided what was next to do. I couldn't be more grateful that my Dad came to Germany and was able to experience this with me. Without him there, I probably would have never made it to the Bauhaus since he had the joy of driving.

We finally went to the city to find food where we found the perfect ideal image of what Germany looks like. We sat outside and ate schnitzel before we walked around a little to shop. We then took the hour drive back to Berlin where we then went back to do more shopping and our favorite part, visit Oktoberfest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb