Germany 101


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Charlottenberg
September 12th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alright so instead of doing a normal blog entry describing my past week in Berlin I decided to relay some of the new things that I have learned since being here. So here we go..

Lesson # 1 You will never out-eat a German.
Okay, I don't care if you're a 300 lbs wrestler or that weird Japaness hot dog eating guy, you will never out eat a German. To prove my point the Germans have a saying that if you dont finish everything on your plate it will rain the next day. Suffice to say we've had a lot of rain lately and my host mom blames it on me and my non- German appetite. So, don't worry about going up for that second helping because their probably already on their third or fourth!

Lesson # 2 The German Stare Down
Before I came to Germany I did probably like most exchange students do, research their country to death. One custom that I came across was something that the Germans are infamously known for: The Stare Down. Now this look is particulary useful in any sort of public area such as walking down the street, in a store or my personal favourite public transportation (including bus, u bahn and s bahn). So before you come to Germany, I suggest you practise said look in the mirror regularly. First, let your face remain emotionless as possible regardless of the situation. Someone has just graciously offered you a seat on the bus, maintain the stare down. Someone has just shoved you into the window of the u bahn, once again, maintain the stare down. Second, you have two choices for your level of eye contact, 1) dart your eyes from person to person uninterested in anyone around you or 2) awkwardly stare at someone directly in front of you until the other person is visably uncomfortable. These are your only options for eye contact and I suggest that you do not stray from them.

Lesson #3 The Double Kiss
This is one lesson that I have a particulary difficult time grasping. If anyone has gone to Europe or has even heard of the continent of Europe, you know about the double kiss as a greeting. We Canadians have a nice little laugh about it once and a while, until you're actually in the situation where you have to perform this greeting daily, multiple times in fact. At school this is a normal way for classmates to say hello in the morning so suffice to say I get lots of practise with it. Perhaps the reason I'm still uncomfortable with the double kiss is that I'm generally not that touchy of a person or it may have something to do with my deepest darkest fear being that when they zig for their first cheek kiss I dont zag and we meet somewheres in the middle.. if you get my drift! So, that being said I'll keep you posted on that one!

Lesson #4 The Skinny Jean
What you aren't wearing skinny jeans? So it turns out if you are between the ages of 8 and 25 male or female, you're probably wearing skinny jeans right now. Skinny jeans dont really need that much explaining because teenagers all know what they are and adults probably know what they are too just havent seen them in 20 some years. Now I really dont have a problem with skinny jeans, I wasnt really concerned with the fad because they weren't really my thing and like most clothing fads, definitely aren't for everyone. However, at my school there are some 16 year old guys that choose to don the skinny jean and have "Greg Halley legs" or in other words frightening tooth pick legs (sorry Greg!). So everyday at school I have to stop and take a double look reminding myself, no shannon those are not dowl sticks with denim on them, that is a live teenage boy in skinny jeans.

Anyways those are just a couple serious German lessons that I've learned so far. In other news, on friday I went to a class mates birthday party and it was really fun! Definitely nice to get out with some people my own age and start making some friends. Also, on monday I started a German language class that is 4 days a week for 4 hours a day for a month so on top of my regular school which I go to most days from 8 till 12 I now have four hours of german language. Let's just say I'm going to be a busy girl for the next little while. Finally, I have my first meeting with my Rotary Host Club on friday and looking forward to meeting the other exchange student, a guy from Hawaii! I can only assume he's been on MTV and will teach me to surf sometime this year. haha

Alright well I hope that everyone is doing well at school! Please forgive the typos and grammar if you're one of my teachers reading this! I'd love to hear from everyone so feel free to leave comments or email (Shannon_L_Halley@hotmail.com). Tchuss!!

Advertisement



13th September 2007

Hey!
Wow! Sounds like you're having quite a blast, I just saw you update your facebook status with the link to this, so I thought I'd check out what you're up to! Sounds like a blast, just wait till Octoberfest, I'm sure it'll get a bit crazier around then, I hear some of the festivities are..."off the hook" so to say. Anyway, I'm going to add you to msn so I can ask you tons of questions. I'd like to do one of the exchanges one day and I need some tips :] Later! ~Jess
13th September 2007

Oh my
Hahahah, A note on the stare down, depending on the length that you are being stared down, you will probably figure out months later that you did something that is hideously socially inappropriate.. but dont worry, no one will ever EVER tell you what. And also, NEVER stop the stare down, even if the person is extremely uncomfortable. And also you have obviously not yet met the scarily extreme germans who never eat anything that isn't measured out. Good luck with your german class, it'll all come eventually regardless of how much you nod off in class, as trying to constantly pay attention in a foreign language (never mind the class, just day to day life) can be exhausting! Veille Gruesse! Tchuess
15th September 2007

HA!
I vastly enjoyed this one! I should make the rules into a movie on "how to be a German"
18th September 2007

Hello!
Your mom shared your blog address with Joann"a" and I the other night and I've read through all your entries and between laughing, crying, being amazed and impressed, I think overall I'm just plain envious of this wonderful experience you're immersed in (right from the food to the German stare downs!). The pictures are awesome and if you don't go into archaeology you should consider journalism!!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb