Frühling and Easter in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Remscheid
April 13th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Easter BonfireEaster BonfireEaster Bonfire

As you can see the bonfire was huge.
So the weather has finally started getting nice again in Germany. The trees are becoming green and the flowers are starting to bloom. This change of weather reminds me of how beautiful Germany is and how lucky I am to be living here. Even the malls in Remscheid decorate for the spring and upcoming Easter holiday. It has been a nice change to sit outside during my lunch break and then after work enjoy a beer sitting on the Rhine and watching the sunset.

Easter in Germany isn’t quite as extravagant as Christmas but the beautiful weather makes up for not having Christmas markets. I spent the long weekend mostly with my family and enjoying the nice weather with friends. I had both Good Friday and Easter Monday off from work. So on Friday I spent the day seeing Aachen with a friend. Saturday was especially fun since my host family invited me along to an Easter Bonfire. Having a bonfire on the Saturday before Easter is a typical tradition in Germany. We traveled to a friend of my host family and spent the evening grilling and sitting near the fire. My house mom made dough to bake over the
Aachener DomAachener DomAachener Dom

This is the Aachen Cathedral with a beautiful spring sky.
fire. In Germany it isn’t very popular to roast marshmallows but bread called stockbrot. It was a very fun evening and the kids even got to search for candy hide in the woods behind the house. On Sunday morning we headed to Church and had a nice breakfast with the people of the church. When my family came they brought along some Easter candy and toys from America for my host kids. Once we got home my host parents and I hide all the gifts around the back yard. After the kids found all the candy my host family invited friends over for lunch. We grilled for lunch and had delicious German sausage. The weather was amazing so we sat on the deck and ate our Easter meal.

The next day my host mom and kids headed to their grandfathers for a couple of days. Since working at event planning I knew a Remscheid had a flea market on Monday. My host dad and I went to the flea market and enjoyed looking at antiques and old German books. The Easter weekend was very enjoyable and it was fun learning about the German traditions but scary realizing how fast
Mall DecorationMall DecorationMall Decoration

As you can see the mall really gets into decorating for spring.
the time is going by.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Egg PyramidEgg Pyramid
Egg Pyramid

This was in the mall in Remscheid.
The Twins with Easter candyThe Twins with Easter candy
The Twins with Easter candy

Here is Ella and Mara searching for candy in the forest.
StockbrotStockbrot
Stockbrot

Ella with her bread dough on a stick.
Searching for CandySearching for Candy
Searching for Candy

This is the kids searching for candy near the rabbit hutches.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb