Dusseldorf; Waking from Eurovison Slumber


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dusseldorf
September 15th 2011
Published: September 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Euro bloomin visionEuro bloomin visionEuro bloomin vision

My sister all ready for the typical eurovision treat for the ears

Dusseldorf



I was in Dusseldorf at the beginning of the year for a typically cheesy European celebration. Yes, that of Eurovision. I didn't, however, see much of what the town has to offer, so it was a pleasant feeling to be back there once again several months later.

The first time I was here, I saw a lot of the train station, the football ground, and many ecstatic Eurovision fans. That's the best thing about Eurovision in my eyes... it's a chance for Europe to get together, and be silly together, and to make fun of ourselves and others.

It's a shame that both times I visited there were major building works going on. It can really wreck the atmosphere of a beautiful city. But without allowing this to affect my visit I wandered on down to one of the most famous shopping streets in Europe, The Kö (Königsallee).

What an absolutely magnificent street. If anybody is in anyway interested in fashion - this is just a wonderful place to be. So armed with a coffee in my hand, I wandered down this little avenue glancing at the vast array of shops before me: Chanel, Gucci, Burberry,
The KöThe KöThe Kö

The postcard I bought in Dusseldorf
Tiffany’s, the list goes on. I even noticed and Abercrombie and Fitch being built up on the other side of the canal. On one side of the road the street is paved with large paving slabs home to many cute little roadside cafes. On the other is a gravel path lined with trees and next to a canal. Sheer Heaven.

I sat on a bench by the canal, and despite the constant noise of traffic running past, managed, for a moment, to forget that I was in a big city and became entwined with the gentle eddy and flow of the canal.

One word to describe the atmosphere of Dusseldorf: Green.

There are so many trees and plants; it's almost hard to believe that this is a massive European city. The people are busy and rushing around, it doesn't quite have that laid back feel of Aachen or Trier, but it is surprisingly easy to get away from the hustle and bustle.

I wandered away from the town centre - towards the river Rhine. (An embarrassing admission would be that when I was first here with my sister, we believed that little canal by the Kö
Snapped!Snapped!Snapped!

Katy with our neighbours gigantic greek flag
to be the river, how wrong we were). The Rhine is a vast extent of a river and fully working, there are not so many people around and I tripped along the river watching the boats go past (needless to say the rain only added to the atmosphere and I got to use my new little pink umbrella).

I was planning on going into the Film museum, however, it didn’t open till 11 and it was only half 9... and then I noticed the price of €5, and decided it wasn't for me. If anyone did go, I would be interested on knowing if it was worth the trip.

After having wondered around the river front for a while, I decided to head back into town (and spent an insanely long amount of time searching for a funny birthday card for my brother). And then came one of my favourite little conversations I've had so far in Germany. Sat by myself, I was just finishing off the fantastically yummy blueberry muffin I had bought for lunch, when an old man sat down with his back to me. I finished my muffin and then went to re-dress myself, hat and scarf wise. The scarf I had chosen to wear that day was insanely long, and it must have taken at least a minute for me to wind it appropriately around my neck. I plopped my hat onto my head and was on my way. Seconds later I hear this little old man call after me "Junge Mädchen" I thought I had left something behind me, but no, this quaint little man had decided to run after me to ask me, "If you dress like this in September, what do you wear in Winter?" Man I love Germans, this is bloody winter. It's cold!

Dusseldorf is definitely a brilliant town for shopping, I mean who doesn't want to feel rich and elegant sometimes, I imagine we all do (although some of us can't pull elegant off as well as others, well we can't all be perfect). I think I counted at least 3 different H&Ms and there are also 3 separate malls. I'm not entirely infatuated with shopping as some are, so it's not top of my list of brilliant cities, but if you are in the area and want to feel like Audrey, the Kö is worth a trip.

My best experience by far in Dusseldorf has to be Eurovision. I saw Jedward and Blue and a whole host of mind boggling acts, which have to be seen to be believed. It's a once in a lifetime experience, that I will most definitely be repeating! (Yes, I am aware of the irony in that sentence, but come on, I have just outed my undying love for Europe's premier song competition, give me a break!)

“There's not enough silliness in the world. Eurovision helps to keep it balanced”
Terry Wogan




Audrey Hepburn Photograph taken by Bob Willoughby
http://www.fabaudrey.com/2011/05/04/the-audrey-hepburn-collection-by-bob-willoughby-exhibit-in-london/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb