Day 1: Bergfeld - Uelzen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Uelzen
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 1: 79km, riding time: 4:15 average 18,49 km/h

I planned on leaving at around 8 o'clock, but if you leave for three months you always remener something else that needs to be done.

At half past ten I decide to ignore everything else and just get moving. I want to be in Uelzen during early afternoon for a final checkup of my bike at Jan Cordes.

I have driven the way to Uelzen several times during the last few months, so I still don't have the feeling I'm on a great journey.

The day is sunny and warm, even a bit too warm for cycling, Near Uelzen thunderstorm clouds darken the sky to the east. Two minutes after entering the shop of Jan Cordes the the thunderstorm is over us. As my bike is declared travelworthy some 30 minutes later the worth is over, but it is still raining,

In the rain I ride the last few kilometers to the camping site. Not nice, to have to pitch the tent in the rin on the first evening of the journey.


Advertisement



22nd June 2008

Best of luck
Best of luck, I shall follow with interest (I'm planning on doing a cycle tour this summer - from the UK - I'm not as fit as I should be, nor have I done anything like that before - so I'll just see how far I get... I'll be pointing at Dover, then pointing east toward Copenhagen. If I get there..... wow! Anyhow, this path looks a good one to follow - is there a strip map of the route, or do you have to have hundreds of maps? How well signposted is it? I know the road route to copenhagen from where I calais is about 1000km, does the north sea loop add many wiggles?

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb