Ein Prost, Ein Prost, Der Gemütlichkeit


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Luneburg
October 3rd 2010
Published: October 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I am finishing up my first month over here and boy does it feel like the time just flew by. I remember thinking to myself when I first got here that this semester was going to be the slowest and longest semester of my life, but after getting settled by meeting new people and making friends who are dealing with the same outlook, it feels like I am at home again.

I just finished the first class out of four for my Track II class, which was intermediate German I. I have already taken this class back in Chico but it was definitely helpful to get a review. Next is Intermediate German II and I am ready to take it on. Time to buckle down and really tackle this language.

Last weekend the William-Watt Str. Crew took a road trip down to München to celebrate Oktoberfest. It was jsut about the greatest weekend one can get from such a trip. Driving on the autobahn, passing the beautiful German landscape and hundreads of wind-power vessels, I am glad I took my camera. Oh, but wait, I lost my camera.... Shucks. It was quite a bummer to get back home to Lüneburg and realize my camera was not on my person. I had captured a great weekend and had nothing to show for it. But it is in the past now, I have learned how to go about not losing a camera, and hopefully I can find a cheap one over here. In fact, I am going to visit the lovely Allegra Williams this upcoming weekend and she has informed me that nice cameras are quite inexpensive over in Torino, Italy. So perhaps I will do some shopping there.

We also got the chance to go the greatest water park I have ever been too on our way down to München. It was an indoor heated pool, with a spa, equipped with a lagoon feel, with a giant water park right in the middle of it. Some of the fastest rides I have ever experienced were among my favorite. One in particular was similar to a ski jump in the Olympics, where it shot you through the air and the landing pad had measurements on it so you could see just how far you flew! I believe I flew about 8 Meters, which made for an uncomfortable landing no doubt. I felt like a kid again, but then quickly back to a young man when we headed out to the fairground where the Oktberfest was held.

Never have I seen so many people of different ethnicities in one place at one time, drinking all different kinds of delicious German beer. There must have been 500,000 people in this 2x2 mile area of the fest. There were also carnival rides everywhere, beer tents naturally, and food stands with of course Bratwurst and fish sandwiches. It was an experience I will never forget and I am very happy I got to see this great event in my lifetime. And to top off the weekend, I was able to meet up with Allegra, who was also there for the day all the way from Italy. It was truly a great day, I would say the best here so far in Deutschland.

I recieved my visa this week so I now am officially a Lüneburger. At least for the next the 3 months. I am soaking up my time here as much as I possibly can, because I am aware of how lucky I am to be here in Germany. Studying abroad is a great oppotunity in life and not that many people get to experience it. I am grateful for the people who helped get me here.

I hope everything is well in the States, I can't wait to experience the cultural shock of coming back to my home Country! And seeing all those familiar faces again.

John

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb