a week in review


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Kassel
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

As I'm sure Jo has alreay informed you, I have been graced with the luck of being given the first yellow card. It happened on an excursion after the 30Km bike ride. I had been speaking German up until the moment Jo took a piece of our struddle, and I opened my big mouth to complain that she had taken the best part, leaving the second bests to me. It just so happened that one of the teachers was within earshot of us and heard me say it. Since then two other people have gotten yellow cards. One our dear friend Melanie, who was also speaking with Jo when she got it. There seems to be some co-relation here, and Jo is very lukcy not to have received one yet herself. On the positive side, I got a free beer out of it, thanks Jo, and got a little tipsy on the three hour boat ride home. There was nothing to do but drink, so we drank.
Things are going well with school, Jo seems to be having a little bit of difficulty with her teacher and a certain student in her class. But as for me things are good. I haven't learned any new grammar yet in class which has me a little worried, but I am learning a lot outside of the classroom as well.
At Saturday's football (soccer) game we had a heck of a time figuring out which team was which, and I still don't know who won. Believe me it was confusing and we did try. But it was an interesting experience. Only at a German football game would they be selling Pretzels and Bread. I really don't understand why the Germans love their bread so much. The people were cheering and so incredibly passionate about their teams that I found them more intersting than the game itself.
The homework seems to pile up all for one night, it isn't due to the procrastination. It's all assigned and due on the same day. Even when I tried to do work ahead of time, I find myself struggling to get it done at the last minute. We are reading a play in our class, called "Der Besuch Der Alten Dame" or the visit of the old lady. Each week we have to read about 20-30 pages and answer 22 questions. It's a good idea but it's pretty hard to get through, it's quite a lot of work when you find yourself looking up every fifth word. So now, I read it through without looking words up, and then try to answer the questions, going through the book again and looking up any necessary words. It is just a lot of work.
Tomorrow Jo and I are going to the Brother Grimm Museum. it should be a good time. Yesterday we went to Wilhelshöhe and Luwenburg Castle near the herkules monument. It was all good fun, a long hike up hill, and naturally it was the hottest day we have had yet, so we were sweating profusely.
Tomorrow is another day and happens to be one with much schoolwork due, so I will say Tschuss, bis Später, and we send our love to all!

Advertisement



25th May 2007

Das is goot!
Hi Sarah. Just a quick note to say hi and let you know I am following along. Glad to see you are having fun. Cheers to both you and Jo. Uncle Brian.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb