Potsdam Confluence


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Brandenburg » Potsdam
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Every day that I had spent inside of Berlin was lovely, sunny, summery. The day I finally decide to get outside the city and daytrip to Potsdam, the weather decides to pour and blow and storm like I haven't seen in ages. Perfect!


Of course I didn't dress properly either- flip flops are a terrible idea in rain. The park was huge and didn't really have signs, so I got really annoyed walking around in the rain and not being able to find anything, especially as I had gotten there kind of late and was really pressed for time. Plus, one of the big palaces was closed after I had trekked through rain and sand to get to it. I still had a pretty good day. I love rain, no matter how wet I get. The park was really lovely and I enjoyed getting out of Berlin.


One of my favorite parts was the picture gallery. There were alot of paintings by Rubens and Caravaggio's Doubting Thomas which I have always liked and couldn't believe I was actually seeing. I think the art history class I took in high school was one of the best classes I took there. Ha....I bet my teacher would be glad to hear it. It was interesting to learn that many of the paintings stolen by the Soviet army were later returned by the Russian government. Some are still missing however. I also discovered an old Russian settlement in Potsdam- who knew! There was a Russian restaurant and also a fully-functioning Orthodox church but it was too late for me to fully investigate either.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sanssouci PalaceSanssouci Palace
Sanssouci Palace

Former summer palace of Frederick the Great
As I was heading from this back to the bus stop, it begins to pour As I was heading from this back to the bus stop, it begins to pour
As I was heading from this back to the bus stop, it begins to pour

...with giant drops the size nickels! Next comes screaming wind and thunder and lightening from all directions! Luckily there was the thin plastic of the bus stand to shelter me!


29th February 2012

Pictures
Your pictures are wonderful, you have a great eye for details and I see how you enjoy your journey! Good luck!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb