Change Of Pace


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Brandenburg » Potsdam
September 30th 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tram StopTram StopTram Stop

Potsdam is a much slower city just a short distance from Berlin. The 15 minutes I spent waiting for the tram, I watched dozens of older folks go by on bikes, families playing in the park, and couples shopping in the groceries. Just a very mellow place.
Gutten tag!

While still trying to get into a normal sleep pattern, I got up even earlier than I had planned this morning to take a trip out of Berlin for a few hours. My goal was to spend the morning in Potsdam, just taking in the city to see what something other than the capital looked like.

First, there was Cecilienhof Palace. Built in the early 20th century when there was still a royal family, it is pretty low-key for a "palace.” The only reason I actually made it a point to stop and take a tour is that Cecilienhof hosted the Potsdam Conference at the end of WWII. I walked around the grounds outside that were the backdrop of many famous photo-ops during the conference. I eventually went inside and toured the rooms used by "The Big 3." They've kept the set-up exactly as it was for them in August of 1945. It was eerie being in the main meeting room where Churchill, Truman, and Stalin pounded out the delicate details of the end of the war. Then to see each of their private offices was a trip, too. There is nothing more exhilarating than standing in
CecilienhofCecilienhofCecilienhof

The venue of the Potsdam Conference, the building and grounds have been kept exactly as they were at the end of WWII.
a place where history was made.

Once I had my fill of conference history, I jumped back on the tram. I spent longer than I had planned going around the city simply because it is larger and more beautiful than I had expected. Even though I had promised my stomach that I would take a break from bratwursts for at least the day, I had to have at least one when I saw a vendor outside of the main city park. If you take a look at the guy, you'll understand why it would have been rude not to buy one from him!

I finally made my way to the only other place I knew I wanted to see while in the city - Sans Souci Palace. There are tons of impressive castles, churches, and palaces all over Germany, and - not unlike the temples of Japan - they all start to look the same after a while. However, I made it a point to see Sans Scouici because the impressive architecture and setting on top of a hill looking over a sprawling garden has earned it the reputation of being the Versailles of Germany. Needless to say,
Big ThreeBig ThreeBig Three

Being in the hallway, you feel like any one of them might come out and walk past you at any moment.
I was amazed by the place. The building itself is not even overly massive, it is just incredibly ornate and everything catches the light in a way that makes it seem unreal. Add to that the view of the huge gardens that go all the way down the hill in front, it all made for an incredible sight.

So, in just half a day I was able to accomplish everything I set out to do in Potsdam. I guess you could say the whole city is sort of dreamlike - a random collection of strangely familiar and unbelievably beautiful locations all just a stone’s throw away from one another. I look forward to telling you about more deja vu moments later.

Until then,
PEACE

Travel Trips For The Complete Dumbass #10

“’No Photographs’ means no photographs.” When you are touring a historically significant palace, note the “No Photography” signs posted all over the place, and interpret them literally. While in Potsdam, I assumed “No Photographs” meant no flash photography. I was informed that was not the case (and in fact I should not even take my camera out of my pocket) by a very large, very
BritsBritsBrits

The room used by Churchill and the British delegation.
stern German security guard who was not interested in my excuses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

SovietsSoviets
Soviets

Where Stalin and his men met.
AmericansAmericans
Americans

The study set up for Truman and the American diplomats.
Red StarRed Star
Red Star

It never fails that the random dude I hand my camera off to thinks that a diagonal picture would be most appropriate.
ApproachApproach
Approach

I had been walking for a long time when the road started to curve and I thought I was finally approaching my second destination.
SanssouciSanssouci
Sanssouci

Frederick the Great built the palace as his summer home. It's gold!
The ViewThe View
The View

From the front of the palace, you look down on the staggered gardens and fountains of the grounds that go on all the way back into town.
Makes SenseMakes Sense
Makes Sense

You can see why the place is named Sanssouci, which is French for "without cares."
BackyardBackyard
Backyard

From every angle, the place is gorgeous. This was Frederick's backyard - you know, where the dogs and ponies would run around.
SalesmanshipSalesmanship
Salesmanship

I challenge anyone to not buy a brat from this guy. Come on!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb