Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
September 13th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After arriving in Berlin in what was ostensibly the longest day of my life, I left the hotel to experience German beer. As it turns out and as was expected the brew was both expensive and refreshing. Some friends and I started a conversation with a man from Copenhagen who after speaking with for some time deemed that I be called "the jokester."

The following morning, September 12, I went on a bus tour of the city. A notable sight during the tour was Peter Eisenman's Holocaust Memorial. This memorial consisted of hundreds of granite blocks arranged in such a way that it appears to be a wheat field on a windy day. Although this affect was not achieved when I experienced the monument, other people claim to see the creator's intent. The afternoon was spent in Berlin's museum of modern art where I enjoyed many paintings by Andy Warhol. Specifically, the painting "Mao" was stunning due to both its incredible size and its color.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb