Berlin [Part 2]


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 12th 2015
Published: November 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

On my 3rdday in Berlin we hopped back on the coach to travel to Potsdam. Less than an hour later we arrived at Sanssouci… wow! We entered from the side, which makes it look like just a one-story yellow building. But as you walk around to the back you are able to marvel at its beauty. It is painted a lush golden shade that glows in the sunlight. It is rowed with windows that are elegantly decorated. I turned my head to my head to the left I noticed terraces cascading down to a huge and beautiful garden.



The palace was built in the mid-18th century and was the summer palace to the King of Prussia, Fredrick the Great. It is done in a Rococo style and it is named after a French phrase meaning “without concerns”. You would have no worries if you lived here!



Our tour guide then guided us through the inside of the palace. I have been to 7 castles or palaces and I can definitely say I have never seen so much gold interior as Sanssouci had. Every room was fitted from head to tale with gold accents or cravings. I loved how colourful each room was. Some were painted blue, others green or even pink. I didn’t think this palace would be so grand since it was only one level.

After our tour inside we were taken for a walk around the large terraced garden and park. At the bottom of the terraces there is a nice little water fountain.



On the way back to Berlin we visited another palace in Potsdam, Cecilienhof. It was built during World War I and was the residence of Crown Prince Wilhelm Hohenzollern. I thought of it more of a large stately home than a palace, mainly due to the fact it was all wood on the inside and outside.

The significance of Cecilienhof is this is where the 1945 Potsdam Conference took place. The leaders of the USSR, UK and USA negotiated the establishment of post-war order, peace treaty issues, and countering the effects of the war.

The tour was very short and basically only took us to the room where the negotiations took place. If you are not particularly interested in WWII history, I wouldn’t recommend you visiting.



The next and finial day of my time in Berlin mainly consisted of shopping… Friedrichstraße is a great shopping area because it is filled with department shores, chain stores and cafes.

That night we packed our luggage and went to the Berlin Hauptbahnhof again. This time to catch a night train to Munich.



Berlin is a wonderfully exciting city. A beautiful clash between modern and historic worlds. Although some places were disappointing, I saw many amazing sights!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb