Summer in the City


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 1st 2015
Published: August 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

What an extraordinary time it is to visit the beautiful city of Berlin. Weather has been perfect and the days have been beautiful. Berlin offer many forms of entertainment for its visitors and locals alike one of the more interesting and enjoyable aspect of this has been an event called Summer in the City. I was not looking for the event, however, the event found me as I was walking around and enjoying the scenery. From a distance the event appeared to be dozens of tents in the plaza, which I frequent for lunch, or sometimes dinner so this captured my attention to take a further look. The festival was cultural in the manner that I had predominately Germany cuisine, but the festival also featured many foods from different places such as stands for “fish and chips” from London, Italian spaghetti and lasagna, wine and cheese from Paris, as well as other stand that held Asian foods. More than any other dish was Berlin’s famous currywurst and pomme frites, as well as dozens of stands and bars on the terrace serving up amazing Germany Bier. Along with the cultural diversity with the food there was also vast diversity in the entertainment
the festival had to offer. The festival offered Germany bands playing folk music as well as DJ’s playing typical American music during the festival. The stand also sold clothing from different regions such as poncho’s being sold for the cold weather and cotton dresses. They also have jugglers present for entertainment as well as a mechanical bull for people that dare ride the beast. The festival was very entertaining and the food was also extremely delicious. The roasted caramelized almonds were like nothing I had ever had they were delicious and sweet and salty at the same time. I even procured a larger amount to take with me back to my hostel to enjoy at a later time. One thing that I had never seen other than in game shows were inflatable balls in water pools that children would get into and run on the water in the ball. Berlin has been able to teach me various things about culture and society but its really enjoyable to see children enjoy time with there parents just as I did in America and forge a connection through memories.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement





Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb