Back to Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
December 3rd 2012
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Berlin the 2nd

I came from an early flight from Lithuania via Riga so I was tired and just wanted to put my bags down. The hotel Mik and Aaron reccomended me was easy to get to from the airport and I only slighty annoyed my German bus driver by constantly asking... 'is this my stop?'. Unfortunately the hotel is undergoing renovations and when I got the keys and was navigating to my room I tripped over my own feet and a step and went head first. Normally this tiny foot flipout is easily recovered and I can right myself without falling over. What I didn't account for was 20kg on my back which had decided gravity was calling. I tried to push up, but my bag, and gravity were my enemies. So I tripped over first the step, then my hand luggage which I was holding, then my handbag until the ground grabbed me with its concrete kiss. Parallel to the ground with 20kg turtle house attached does not encourage me to get up, neither did my bleeding elbow. I tried, then lay back down and had a rest. Decided to take my bag off and try again, this time more successfully. Funny thing was when I got to my room, I had zero space and was sharing with people who had obviously lived in the hotel for many many months if not longer. I felt like I was in a cramped share house, not a hotel, so I requested another room. Which I had with a Polish girl who had been living there for 4 months, but at least there was room for me and my bag.

My first afternoon I wandered the Charlottenburg district and checked out the christmas markets as I had previously stayed in a different area of Berlin. I was on the hunt for a post office to send home another 6kg, which took surprisingly little time and was less complicated as the guy spoke a little English. I went out for Indian for dinner and had a chilled night in. Next day I skyped home, caught up on emails and reorganised my bag as the weather was not encouraging for outdoor activities. I found a shop which sold second hand riding clothes and bought some new jods and second hand rubber riding boots. I also visited a nearby vintage shop reccomended by Miki and found some super cute vintage shoots (shoe/boots) which were all leather and only 16€! My last activity before leaving for Rehfeld was a trip to see the Berlin wall which I had missed the first time. I took some photos and then headed to the train station to begin my next adventure on the farm. I am at thus point so very ready to settle down and into a routine as I am over travelling and only having a home for 3-5 days at a time. Hopefully I will feel refreshed and rejuvinated after doing some real work for a while. :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb