Unter den Linden


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Later on Sunday...

I played tourist for a few hours today, visiting Unter den Linden. At the Brandenberger Tor, they have a huge stage and World Cup screen set up. I walked a little around the Reichstag but since it was Sunday I couldn't go in. There was a lot more I could have seen if I'd stayed longer but I felt tired and came home (still jet lagged). I want to go back and see the Jewish Holocaust memorial and also continue down Unter den Linden to see the rest of the street. I went down Friedrichstrasse and had lunch at a little place across the street from the former site of Checkpoint Charlie. Cafe Adler. A cute waitress complimented my tattoo, but the conversation fizzled when I couldn't understand what she said after that! 😉 I had a giant plate of cous cous with Spanish sausages and a bowl of vegetable stew, I couldn't eat it all!

There's a museum at the site of the former checkpoint, I went into the lobby, but it was really crowded and I didn't go in. In the bookstore I looked at incredible postcards of postwar Berlin. The Reichstag full of bullet holes and partially bombed out, women clearing rubble, Brandenberger Tor rising eerily out of the background.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb