Livin' it up in Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 1st 2011
Published: July 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

East Side GalleryEast Side GalleryEast Side Gallery

along the wall
Hi all,

I am still in Berlin, I am starting to feel settled into this exciting and quirky city, but I have to say it still doesn't quite feel like home. The city has sights, excitements, events, and more culture to offer that I could ever imagine taking in. Every weekend there are a million events to check out or festivals, shows, etc. It's truly non-stop.

Of course, with school, training, and all the things there are to do/see, I feel like I only manage a handful, which is probably true... That is one of the great things about visitor's!!! I seem to find more time to explore new places or re-discovering some of my highlights to date. All I can say is the city has personality, life, and vibrance.

With Katy and her friend Kristy in town, we started out with some of the classics, the east side gallery, molecule man, and a thai demonstration we had that weekend. Of course, this was no ordinary thai demonstration, it was a Berlin-style demo. We were invited to an abandoned fair grounds with decaying and abandoned rides, roller-coasters, a ferris wheel, and loads of old swan paddle boats and
More east side galleryMore east side galleryMore east side gallery

breaking down the wall - lol
giant dinosaurs all over this incredibly large and eerie property that went on forever. Of course, it was opened for the weekend in the name of finding a new "underground" place to have a party for artists. So, all sorts came out to set up stations (the self-playing band, thai demo, etc). I have to say, it was a pretty fabulous glimpse of how I have come to see Berlin.... alternative, original, confusing/surprising, and oddly fun :-) We finished off the visit with some of my favourite things to do - bike touring, park lounging, and kayaking... and even managed a night out to top it all off.

As I said, always something to do and a million options for going out.... lucky find for me, especially as I decided to stay on another year.... !

Trish xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

paddlingpaddling
paddling

on the canals that run through Berlin...
the towerthe tower
the tower

(classic Berlin)


Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb