Day 8 - Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok today was my last day in Berlin. I decided I would try not to spend too much money today as I worked out that I've spent €300 in a week. So I spent 5 euros before this evening which in not good going.

My coach to Prague tomorrow is completely up in the air. Oh well I'm sure it'll work out.

Today I went to the memorial for the murdered Jews of Europe. Very interesting and moving. I then spent 3 hours in the park trying to find as many of the points of interest as possible. I only had time to do one half of the park and that took me about 3 hours and I didn't even find all of them.

I decided to spend what time was left of the afternoon (it was about half 5) looking at the Berlin wall. First I went to the only place where there are still both Walls and the kill zone in between them remaining. It was very moving.

I then went to the eastside gallery where there is another stretch of the wall that in 2009 was painted by numerous modern artists. It must have been at least a kilometre. All very interesting.

To finish the day i walked down to unter den liden, which is one of the main streets in Berlin, running from the Brandenburg Gate to alexanderplatz. Some beautiful majestic
buildings and lots of fantastic statues.

Tommorow I shall be in my third country.

Advertisement



26th April 2011

ailsa_oconnor@btinternet.com
I imagine the spending will slow down a bit. It was probably the right thing to begin with to buy yourself proper lunches etc but simple snacks & picnics would be fine if weather stays good. Anyway, I suppose you can work out the number of weeks your savings will pay for at the current rate & adjust accordingly if you want to. xx

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb