Germany 7


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
the video above doesn't work.... here's the link


I was waiting for the ubahn on friday and a sober turkish man came up and peed on the wall a few meters from me. *grossss*

Saturday...
I really really need a phone. it's Almost an emergency now. the turkish guy in the apartment above mine beat his wife and his kids a lot on saturday. all of them were screaming for about an hour and a half. at one point, someone tried to run down the stairs and there was a fight and someone was dragged up one flight of stairs and back into the apartment. i don't have a phone to call the police. i took the chinese guy's cleaver (butcher knife) and went to the stairs, but it was already empty. (I can fight with a normal knife, not a butcher knife, but a butcher knife scares people.) i did some faint yelling into the yell made me feel ashamed. next time i want to be able to call the police and report them. I spoke to a very nice lebenese woman and her 8 year old daughter on thursdays last week. i also met a turkish boy (13) who lives above me on sunday. he said it wasn't his family. i don't know how to explain to that man that i am not muslim and i will not ignore the sounds as he beats his family. I guess i did ignore it last time. does that make me just as bad as he is. not helping someone in trouble? it's bad enough that the women cover their heads which i (despite learning about their culture) view as a symbol of oppression.
The guy who i was going to meet for an english lesson on Saturday night canceled. :-(

Sunday morning Chinese guy arrives. :-) He stayed with me for a few days. :-)
Sunday afternoon church.
Here was my Sunday evening...
I had an appointment with Esther. :-) She wanted to me take the s-bahn because it's faster. The train moves faster, but it comes every 10 or 15 minutes. That means it's not so fast. Remember that I left at 15 after before and arrived at 15 after. It took me an hour with the u-bahn 8 through the center of the city. Since I know the s-bahn takes longer :-P, I left at 4:50pm. The waits were normal: 3 minutes to at get on line 9 and 10 minutes to get on the s-bahn. I was Greifswalder Straßer when everyone got off the train. Surprise! The east side of the ring is closed. After five minutes of waiting I caught a train going in the opposite direction. I got off at Schönhauser Allee and transferred to line 2 (10 minutes wait). I went to alexander platz and changed to line 8 (6 minutes wait). I took line 8 to Hermannplatz and changed to line 7 (9 minute wait). I got off at Neukölln and got on S46 (6 minute wait). I finally arrived at Schöneweide at 6:25pm. It took me an hour and 35 minutes to get to Schöneweide. Next time I'm taking the ubahn the whole way. :-P
You weren't at the station to I decided to go to your house. It took 10 minutes but I only got lost once. ;-) In that tunnel under the street there was a homeless looking man with a bike on his shoulders. He pointed at the birds a lot and was speaking very fast german. I told him i didn't speak german so he started making bird noises at me. They're different from our bird noises in english. Ha ha ha. I made it to your apartment at 6:35 and rang the buzzer 'Frey'. You didn't answer and I didn't hear any buzzing so I pressed it a few more times. I checked the gate and it was open so i went to the door and rang that buzzer a few times. I know you wouldn't intentionally ignore me which means the buzzer must be broken. I went to the street and yelled Esther for a few minutes. At this point i had still not found you and was upset. Not your or me, just the way things worked out.
The guy i was supposed to meet last night canceled on me an hour before we were supposed to meet. :-( I headed back to the station around 7:50 and there were two turkish guys in the tunnel who chanted 'fick fick fick' at me when i walked by. I got to the platform and only had to wait 15 minutes for the right train to arrive. I arrived home at 8:10pm. It was an okay night, it would have been much much better to actually meet with you. ;-) I think the part i liked the least was having to explain to the chinese guy from couch surfing who's staying with me why I failed to find you. I also didn't go to the swap meets because he arrived late this morning. Tomorrow is another day, and the beginning of a new week. :-)

Monday morning....
I fell in alexander platz going up the stairs. It hurt, a lot. After reaching alexander platz, i take M2 to work. When i was standing in the tram, my knee bled through my jeans and into my sock. :-( At 1 pm, my knee really hurt. I couldn't put pressure on it. :-( I taped a lot of paper towels over my knee and the blood soaked through. My knee has stopped after lunch though (1:30-2:30). :-) A few guys in the office seem worried, but it's fine. It has to be. Ha ha ha. Afterall, there's nothing a doctor can do for someone's knee. you can't caste a knee and i don't want stitches. They're terrible. Besides, the cut on the front is only 3 cm or a little longer than an inch. :-) So after work, i felt fine. I stood up and then promptly fell down. I still couldn't put any pressure on it because it hurt too much. It took me 10 minutes to walk half a block to the tram and i had to wait another ten minutes there. I took my light jacket today because it's been warm. It dropped to -3C. I almost died! I didn't go to the german lessons because my knee hurt too much. It took me almost an hour and a half to get home (normally 30 minutes). I hopped around my apartment all night. Ha ha ha. I felt like i did when i was in a cast for several months. It was great. :-) Even better, my knee didn't bleed last night! I thought it would for sure. The paper towels i taped on it, adhered to my knee. I 'knew' they were going to tear off in my sleep. Ha ha ha. I slept on the floor again because i didn't want to get blood on the sheets and i was being a good host. I showered this morning and the paper towel got soft. I also search the whole kitchen and found some scissors!!!! I cut most of it off so it just in the middle of my knee now. I also figured out how to walk without bending my knee. I look kind of like a beggar in the u/s bahn walking with a limp! It's hilarious! I want a tin can so i can ask people for money! Ha ha ha! The spanish intern had her purse stolen this weekend. She lost all her credit cards, camera, cell phones, glasses, contact lenses, etc. She said it's going to cost about 800 euros to replace! I have decided that i need to start steal purses!!! Ha ha ha. On a different note, it's a good think because she always has people call her during lunch time and they interrupt our conversations. Now they can't do that. ;-)

One of my friends in Poland just wrote me! I think I'm going to visit. I wrote her back and am hoping to set something up. I want to mitfahren next weekend. That's an even bigger incentive to get a cellphone! :-)

My job just got really difficult today. They are having me wrote html for our developer's webpages! Ahhhhh. It's a lot of fun and a little challenging.

When i went for bandages on wednesday, i finally found a REALLY cheap discount store. i bought a big glass and some curtains for my room.
Thursday, i bought a cellphone! :-) Yeah! The jump into the 1990s! I also FINALLY bought another adapter for my laptop and camera and shaver. :-) I feel like a much more complete person now. :-)

The following is concrete but the details are unknown.

February 12-13 Berlin (NE Germany)
February 19-20 Czech Republic
February 26-27 Poland
March 5-6 England (Bristol & London)
March 12-13 Nürtingen (SW Germany)
March 26-27 Austria!


Additional photos below
Photos: 159, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb