A Quick Berlin Blurb


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Bradenburg GateThe Bradenburg GateThe Bradenburg Gate

Historically, this was the most interesting city I have ever visited.
Unbelievably we our on way back to Dublin for a flight home tomorrow.
Our last major stop in the trip (not discounting the guarenteed schenanigans of Dublin) was Berlin.

We arrived via train from Munich, in which I was boarded out of my mind because Mike stole the only book I have left to read... And got the metro to the JetPak hostel around 8. And... Whether it was my mom's insistence that I'm an alcoholic or the utter and complete exhaustion from living out of a bag, walking non-stop, or never sleeping more than 5 hours - I was in bed and asleep by 11! Miracle.

We had two cool Austrailian roomates who had been all over the world (even to Kashmir - shady). But the next morning I was up early to head to Hannover by myself to visit Jana, the german exchange student my family hosted all of last year in Pennsylvania. I am the first Connelly to meet her parents (who were great) and her little brother Leon (who drew me a picture). We also met up with Leonie, another exchange student of another family back home and checked out the sites of Hannover. A near catastrophic train ride home where I almost had to stand for the entire 2 hours - and I was back to the city.

Mike visited a concentration camp which I was really jealous of. I've spent like 10 days in Germany and I've never gone. Guess its a good excuse for making another trip 😊

We grabbed some delightful chinese food right next to our hostel and decided to stay in and drink with people from the hostel. The common room had free internet (which for you rookies is a rarity in Europe), foosball, guitar hero, and a ton of movies. So a group of us just stayed in and made it to bed around 2.

As you're probably saying to yourself... "Ryan, this is all boring" - and you'd be right. Mike and I agreed that after two LONG nights out in Munich, we both sort of shut down even though we still had the great city of Berlin left. I'm not sure I mentioned... But traveling is exhausting.

Anyways... Monday morning we headed out for the city ritual - the FREE walking tour. Our tour guide was great, and the history of the city is amazing. Its relevant, it happened in my lifetime, and it was interesting. The Brandenberg Gate, the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and all the other sites. Then we walked to the top of parliment which is built with a large glass dome on top of it so that people can walk over top of the chamber and look in on parliment - and... The legislature always knows the people are watching. We spent about 8 walking around and met even more people. Ironically, we saw our Brazilian roommates from Munich just walking down the street 3 days later in Berlin. It truly is a small world.

Some dinner then out for the night. And its embarassing to say... But as is the ritual, we did go out and didn't get home until after 2 AM on a travel day. Even more embarassing... As usual we were craving kebabs and found the best of the trip near the Zoo and downed two each. Needless to say its midday the next day and I still haven't eaten.

Overall, Berlin was as expected. Tons of interesting and relevant history. I wish we'd have taken a bit more advantage of the social life, but frankly... Our bodies probably wouldn't be functioning today. So we conclude with a crazy night with Mike's brother in Dublin before flying home tomorrow.

I will probably write a summary of the the trip when I get back to the States but... As expected the trip was amazing. I have no regrets and had a terrific time but can honestly say... Ill be excited to be home.

Talk with everyone soon - probably when I'm dying at work Thursday morning. I need a vacation!


Advertisement



10th February 2009

wow
you MUST be getting exhausted... your grammar is getting progressively worse...

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb