Lazy Sunday


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 3rd 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lazy Sunday, Wake up in the late afternoon. Wake up Joscha just to see how he's doing.

"Yo what up Joscha"
"Yo Fiskers whats crackin"
"You thinkin' what I'm thinking?"
"Sport Spielen, Man it's happenin"
"But first nutella calls, lets go walk down the hall"

That was my morning 😊

We woke up around 11:30, ate a breakfast of Nutella, bread, and cereal and went to play battlefield 2 with Joscha and his brother.

I took both him, his brother, and 20 bots single handily in 4 different rounds. The Germans don't have much fight left in em' I guess.

Anyways after I whopped up on some Krauts we all went outside where I learned how to play "Table Tennis"

Ping Pong is a different game alltogether. We played with the volleyball, and then we all read the text of Obama's speech which he gave in Berlin a week or so ago. The speech was very well given and I was suprised to learn that he did not use a teleprompter or any notes. I must say the man can speak.

But anyways, after Joscha's mom handed my ass to me in "Table Tennis" we went inside for dinner. Broccoli, Noodles, and some kind of Wurst. Joscha tells me there were "wieners" but they just looked like straight up hotdogs to me.

Food is good, or thanks to my German phrase book "Das Essen ist fantastisch"

Meaning "thanks Joscha's mom for making me really good German food"

After dinner we watched some CNN in English and decided it was time to go to bed. I am awake now and publishing this blog. I really don't have any pictures from today but I have a big day planned for tomorrow.

Advertisement



4th August 2008

fed and Hello from KY
Many thanks to Joscha's mom for feeding you and having you as a house guest! Glad to know that you are sleeping well and hope you are feeling better. Say "hello" to Joscha's family from your kin in Kentucky. I love you, Mom
5th August 2008

hi again
What's Sport Spielen? That intro was awesome. It's funny that you're going to foreign countries, and mostly you're just hanging out with the people rather than doing touristy stuff. It's also cool, though. You really do have some good friends over there. :) Is table tennis actually a different game than ping-pong, or do you just mean that you were totally out of your league? It's interesting that you were aware of Obama's speech and all... was that a big deal over there? Before he made it, had people over there heard of him? Are most Germans really following the American Presidential election? Do they usually watch CNN in English, or was it just for your sake? It sounds like you had a good day just chillin' after just getting there. I look forward to hear what happened the next day (well, I guess that's today, actually).
5th August 2008

sport spielen means simply "playing sports" I love not doing touristy stuff. It's fun to go places and see things, but I tell you Brad I have learned SO much German in the 2 weeks it's crazy They really are following the election and yes people had heard of Obama before the speech. Thats why 250,000 people showed up to hear him speak. It was huge in Berlin. Joscha sometimes watches the news in English just to keep in practice. It's part of their basic cable set. It's so surprising the number of people in Germany who speak English. Everywhere I go they speak to me in English. I respond in German as best as I can, and with Joscha's help I am a quick learner.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb