Ich Bin Ein Berliner


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Thank you JFK for uttering these famous words, and giving me a catchy intro for my blogging time in the city of Berlin.

I arrived in Berlin around 6:00. Getting off at the first train station that said Berlin, it occurred as I stepped away from the closing train doors that there was no Joscha Podlesney. Without a wifi connection to save my life and feeling the lingering affects of my illnesses I wandered around the Sudkreuz attempting to find my German friend.

When it became apparent I was at the wrong train station I went straight for the phones. I tried calling Joscha but all I got was a German woman telling me I had the wrong number.

Bummer

I called Brad Gibbons, my mother, and finally Brad Jones telling them I had arrived in Berlin, but that Joscha was not there and I couldn't get a wireless connection for my I Pod or laptop. I finally ventured into a Burger King for a sprite to quench my thirst when I spied a Pay Per Use Internet station sitting idle in the corner. I got on, emailed Joscha informing him of my error, and before I knew it I had a response containing his address.

20 Euros and 13 kilometers later I arrived at the home of Joscha Podlesny.

Jani (Joscha's brother), Joscha, and their mother (Monika) greeted me at the door, and I was able to use some of my recently acquired Deutsch skills to say hello and thank you.

I must say seeing and talking to Joscha is surreal. I didn't think I would see him again after it took over a year to get a hold of him. As I write this I am sitting in his room watching a movie enjoying the super fast internet connections. I don't have any pictures to post from today. The Screen on my camera broke and I can take pictures, but not preview them. This is a pure text blog entry. I will take some pictures tomorrow and upload them so you can see the sights of Berlin Mit Mir.



Advertisement



2nd August 2008

update
Thank you for posting an update so we know how you are doing! I love you and hope you are having a great day!
3rd August 2008

so...
so are you feeeling any better?? i want to see some pictures of joscha's family.!? i miss you lots! call me soon ily=]
5th August 2008

Gosh, Bobby, this is so cool! What an adventure, getting lost in a foreign country! That would be so awesome. Good for you that you get to see Joscha. That certainly is awesome. He's a good guy. Tell us how he's doing.
8th August 2008

wow!! getting lost in Germany...i would've FREAKED. so good job :)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb