A Quick Look at Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
December 23rd 2007
Published: January 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BuildingBuildingBuilding

The wall of a building
December 22 - 24
On the train ride, I saw the sun for the first time! Almost all of the trees that we passed were covered in a thick layer of frost, every branch and twig. They looked as if that had been sprayed white just for the pleasure of those looking out the train windows. They resembled the trees in the little Christmas villages that people display in their windows. They looked beautiful and delicate.
I easily made it to my hostel although the area that it was in made me a little nervous since there was a lot of graffiti, but I didn't encounter any problems. Through a mistake made by one of the workers the had that I was seven people staying in a seven person room, so after that was straightened out, I had a seven person room to myself!
On the 23 I didn't need to check out until noon and Mom and Dad's flight did not get in until like 4:30, so I decided to do some quick sightseeing before I had to haul all of my stuff around and head out to the airport. I went first to the square where books were burned
Checkpoint CharlieCheckpoint CharlieCheckpoint Charlie

Where Checkpoint Charlie once stood
in the 1930s and 1940s, but I am not sure it I found it or not. Then I walked down to Checkpoint Charlie and was kind of disappointed. All that remains of the famous checkpoint between the East and West sides of Berlin is a post. There was a museum a little farther away but I didn't really have time to go to it and it was Sunday. Next I took the U-bahn up to the Berlin Wall Monument. My time before check out almost up, I went back to the hostel, retrieved my stuff, and then started to make my way to the airport. It took me nearly and hour to get out there by U-bahn and bus but that was okay because once I got there I had about a 5 hour wait before my parents arrived. I was very happy to see them. Our hotel was near the airport but that meant that we were far away from everything, including food. Then next morning we took the hotel shuttle back to the airport to catch a bus to get to the U-bahn to get to the Main Train Station to catch a train to Lutherstadt Wittenberg.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Checkpoint CharlieCheckpoint Charlie
Checkpoint Charlie

All that marks the famous checkpoint now
Berlin WallBerlin Wall
Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall Monument
Berlin WallBerlin Wall
Berlin Wall

Marks where the Berlin Wall once ran


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb