March 2007 - Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
March 13th 2007
Published: August 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having lived in Amsterdam in 1989 when the Berlin Wall came down but unable to afford a visit, I finally managed a visit in March 2007. Although I've been to southern Germany a couple of times, I was very unsure of what to expect of Berlin. Verdict - a thoroughly enjoyable week!

Stayed at the Marriott hotel, courtesy of points accumulated almost 10 years ago; but only stayed there to sleep. When travelling, I prefer to eat as a local - so - breakfast was taken at various stalls near Alexander Platz, lunch in local cafés and evening meals in or around Oranienburger Strasse.

Weather was clear and crisp and the days spent following tours given by the New Berlin Tours. These were very refreshing, with very knowledgeable guides giving an insight into the chosen tour subject.

I was pleasantly surprised by the ease with which it was possible to avoid tourists and practice my German - so much so, I'm planning to come back and see more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 19; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb