Rothenburg ob der Tauber--Looks Like a Movie Set, but it's real!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
September 11th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm on my way to the Bavarian area of Germany. As I'm starting this blog, I'm cruising along on a high speed train. I'm in 2nd class, but the seats are spacious, and I have a tray table for my net book. This is a great way to travel. I managed to make several train changes without missing any of them. When you get in to your station, you usually have from 4-12 minutes to get to some other track which may require dragging your luggage down a set of stairs, through a tunnel, and up the stairs on the other side to catch your next train. It's kind of like a game show where you have to find your track, get to it (while hauling a backpack and a 50 pound piece of luggage), dodge the crowd, and get on the next train before the time runs out. I love games! I saw a lot of pretty countryside today. This could have easily been somewhere in Illinois. There were lots of farm fields in various stages of harvest and cultivation. Their hay bales are individually shrink-wrapped with a pale green plastic. They look strange sitting around in the fields. The
Rothenburg Town GateRothenburg Town GateRothenburg Town Gate

One of 6 gates through the wall and into the village.
wonderful thing I saw that is not seen in Illinois is acres and acres of solar collection panels. I'd like to know if they're government subsidized, or how it works. There are also a lot of windmills. The area has a slight roll to it, and there are lots of managed forests. It's really a pretty place with traditional villages sitting in many of the valleys. I arrived in Rothenburg ob der Tauber, a medieval, walled town filled with buildings that date back to the 12th century. I stayed at a guesthouse that was directly on the main square. The guesthouses usually have a store or restaurant on the first floor, and then 2 or 3 floors above with guest rooms. I was 2 floors up (no elevator, of course), so I dragged my suitcase up the pretty, wooden staircases to my room. It was perfect! My windows had window boxes filled with geraniums, and the windows opened to a courtyard view. I have found that windows in Europe swing wide open, and they don't have screens in them. Rothenburg is a small town that can be seen on foot, so I set off with my map and my Rick
Crime and Punishment MuseumCrime and Punishment MuseumCrime and Punishment Museum

These "paddy wagons" are the least offensive things this place displays.
Steves Guidebook. Rick says you should do all of your shopping in Rothenburg, and be done with it. So, that's what I did! He also advises visitors to see the Crime and Punishment Museum...so I did. I don't know why. It has several floors of exhibits showing torture that was used in medieval times. How many thumbscrews, stretching tables, shame masks, and iron maidens do you need to see in order to appreciate that you live in more sensible times!? I'm always irritated when people say that our era has become so violent. People who believe that, need to do some study of history, and they'll find much more violence in earlier times. Enough of that! I managed to find a weinstube that Rick had also recommended. So I took a little break and tried a flight of white wines. There were small portions of 6 different medium-dry local wines. After more sightseeing, I had another typical Bavarian meal...3 types of sausages, sauerkraut, and potatoes. It was delicious, but I think I've reached my fill of Bavarian food. I feel the need to yodel. The restaurant was kind of crowded, so I asked a couple if they'd like to join
Butcher ShopButcher ShopButcher Shop

Everything ends with "wurst"!
me, since I had already been seated at a table for 4. They were Canadian, but they've been living in Qatar for 2 years. They're probably in their late fifties. He works for a company that's bringing some particular kind of insurance in to the country. They were really interesting. I like to get the opinion of non-Americans concerning anything that's going on in the news. At 8:00 in the evening, there is a Night Watchman's Tour. This one guy has been giving these tours for 20 years, and he is a riot! It's done in English with an interesting accent. He gives some good historical information, and he tells a lot of really funny stuff too. The tour is 7 euros, which is about 10 dollars. I tried to guess how many people there were, and I think at least 150. He also sold a DVD which “has the entire tour AND 15 bonus minutes, because it's the American way” The audience liked that one! This is what he does for a living...one hour a day, and he admits he's making good money. What a gig! Where did I go wrong? Fun day; great place to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Room with a ViewRoom with a View
Room with a View

I took this picture through my open window.
Gastof ButzGastof Butz
Gastof Butz

I stayed here while in Rothenburg.


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb