German Talk Shows and Fraulein Tutors


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I owe my good mood and good spirits to Kyle, Jason and Thea 😊 Thanks guys! Without their messages and support I'd probably still be the lonely sack of American I was the first two weeks I was here.

Well, I still don't have any friends, but I'm getting to be ok with that. It's nice to have "me" time and not have to worry about catering to other people all the time. I get up and have brekky, sometimes I walk around the town a little bit or go to lessons, and have lunch.. sometimes I do my own German lessons.... jump on the computer...watch at least an hour of German TV (although I did find a French channel, lol) a day... open the lounge and do it all over again!

The hotel owner's nieces came out this week and one is absolutely darling. Very precocious and helpful. She helps me open the lounge at night and I taught her how to use the shaker and go around making sure everything looks nice. She even printed me up a sheet of German things to say with English translation 😊 If no one is in the lounge, we both get out our Learn German or Learn English books respectively and quiz each other and help with pronunciations. My German got better with that little girl in 3 days than with all my lessons combined. Plus, she doesn't know much English so she really only talks to me in German which is really cute 😊

I like watching the Game Shows here because the hosts talk slow so the contestants can understand what they are saying, and there are a lot of pauses so I can work out what they've said before they move on. My fave show to watch is this show called "The Quiz" which is like "Who wants to be a Millionaire" except there is someone that sits next to you and can veto what you answered. I like it because it has the questions written down, so I can hear how the words are said, and see how they are spelled. Once I see how a word is spelled I can usually get how to pronounce it and can sometimes work out what it actually means based on other words I know.

This weekend is going to be a huge festival! Just about every hotel in town is totally booked up! It's going to be -packed- and I'm really excited about it. I'll write about it and post pictures for the next entry.

Mom and Mamoo (Mom's Mom) are coming tomorrow! I'm pretty excited about a little taste from home. They are going to be staying at the hotel with me and we're going to go on day trips, and then after a week, they are going to go somewhere together for a few days, and then I'm going to be meeting back up with them and Mom is going to show us around our ancestral town in Laval, France, then I'm going to be flying from Paris to Dublin to see my friend David (the Spaniard I met in Australia that I stayed with in Scotland, lol) and REBUY that BEAUTIFUL Claddagh ring I lost in Vegas, grumble grumble. Then back home to Rothenburg to keep on working and saving for my big trip in January and February!

The details are still up in the air, I have a bunch of plans depending on money, time and whether or not my friends can let me crash there, lol. Worst case scenario, I spend a lot of time in Budapest because hostels are only $13 a nigiht there, lol.

This other German show I was watching, the host went into the audience and asked people if they could sing. The first lady said yes and sang.... "Sweet Home Alabama" ....? And the next guy sang "Can you feel the love tonight"... oooook, and the last person sang the theme from "Titanic." It's funny what songs they choose out of all the songs in the world!

My little German tutor was rambling on about something and I managed to work out that she was talking about mountains and mountains are called "bergs" and I was like... like ICE BERGS!! It was cool :=)

Advertisement



4th September 2008

glad to hear from you
Keep us updated!! Enjoy Laval! I want pics of the ring...and we can go back to Vegas again and leave the Claddaughs at home. =)
5th September 2008

So proud of you
I am so proud of you. You are so much braver than I am. Thankfully German is not the most difficult language to learn. Of course, I do not speak a word of it! I know you will have fun with Mom and Mamoo. Mamoo showed up at my house on Monday with cooler glasses than I wear! Now that is just wrong! Love you!
6th September 2008

Hello What About the Girls
Hey you can make out there with my emails all the time. We Miss You Biatch. Come back. I wish I could come, that festival sounds like fun!!!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb