Day 1 (Official)


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Olching
June 10th 2015
Published: June 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

June 10

Today I woke up around 8:15. I talked to one of my friends from America as I was getting ready for school. I didn’t have to be at the school until 10 this morning. At around 8:35 I left for the bus stop. It wasn’t too long of a walk. I got there very early because I didn’t know the exact schedule and I caught an earlier bus. I met up with the guys at the Sbahn around 9:05. The bus was running a bit behind schedule. We got on the Sbahn towards Maisach. We got to the school about 9:30. Nobody knew whether we were supposed to go in or not, so we stood outside and talked. Finally Frau Seset came out and had us come inside. We had a 2 hour orientation to the program. This included getting our prepaid track phones. It’s been awhile and I wasn’t sure if I remembered exactly how to use one of these. We programmed each others names to replace the ones from prior trips. After that we were released for a 2 hour lunch break. A group of us ate at a little café. Amanda and I had vanilla croissants. They were so good. Then we decided to walk around Maisach for a little bit. W bit later, we broke off from the group. Amanda and Erika had to go back to Amanda’s host family’s house so that she could get her money. Noah and I walked with them to the Sbahn. Then we walked the other direction for a bit. Finally we turned around and stopped to get some ice cream from the Italian Ice cream place. It was really good. We walked some more and enjoyed our ice cream. Then we came across a group of our students who were sitting and talking. We conversed for about 30 minutes. Finally we headed back to the Sbahn to meet Frau Seset and the rest of the group for our tour of Munich. It took about 40 minutes by Sbahn to get to Munich. We walked to the Virkatulleinmarkt and we saw Marienplatz and a palace. It was all so beautiful. After that we walked back to Marienplatz to go purchase our textbooks for the courses. We explored the book store for a while (it was 6 stories). Then we finally went outside for the Glockenspiel at 5. It was really cool to watch, however I don’t think that it is all it’s cracked up to be. After the Glockenspiel a group stayed to go to the Hofbrauhaus, the rest of us went back to our prospective towns. Somehow I got the town with all the guys from the group, so there are 7 of us living here. I somehow managed to get on the right bus. I got off on the stop that I did last night (even though it wasn’t my stop) and walked the rest of the way. I was the first one home, so I went to my room and started on my homework. Finally everyone else came home. We ate dinner. I got tea (yay). It was around 8:45 by the time I finished dinner. I stayed after my host brother left and had a nice conversation with the mother. She said that I speak German very well. (That was a highlight of my entire German speaking career.) Then I went upstairs to finish my homework. I finished my homework about 50 minutes ago. I’m going to head to bed soonish after reading a chapter or two of my book.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb