European appetizer


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Deining
May 19th 2013
Published: May 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hike in the AlpsHike in the AlpsHike in the Alps

Right behind Peter's cabin in Austria
I just got back home (Kuujjuaq) after a nice holiday, spent mostly in Europe. I was there to visit a friend from Germany (Thanks Peter for all the great photos and for being such a good guide!) and to explore many places in a very short time!

I landed in Munich and didn't see much of the city as we drove right away to Peter's place in Bavaria. I was joking with friends yesterday saying I didn't see much of Munich because at 180 km per hour, you don't get to see much! But I saw lots of nice villages and the timing was great as the fields were very colourful. Between the green grass, the yellow mustard fields, the blue sky with white clouds and the red roofs, it was like a painting. Peter's house is wonderful, with lots of really big trees, flowers and even wildlife around.

I visited Nuremberg, then went to Peter's cabin in the mountains of Austria, where I felt like I was Heidi in the mountains. We did a nice hike there, saw Innsbruck on the way to Italy and spent a few days exploring Italian food! Actually food seemed to be the main focus of the whole trip, certainly one of the pleasures of traveling! I enjoyed it totally, and thought next time I travel to Europe I should travel by bike so I would be able to eat more!!!

Italy was amazing. I loved being able to eat outside at night, warm weather and no mosquitos... Beautiful Tuscany and charming Cinque Terre. I only saw a few places (Florence, Lago di Garda, San Giminiano), but it certainly made me want to go back. Did I mention the cappuccino and gelato? How about tiramisu? The pasta, the pizza...

The last few days of the trip were spent in Mallorca, were we stayed in a really charming finca in the mountains. Our only neighbours were donkeys and sheep, and from this base camp we did a few hikes, explore the market of Sineu, and the city of Palma. Olives, fresh cheese, basil, bread, more olives, tomatoes... Hum! Spain! Not to mention this time the moroccan grocery store with moroccan pastries.

There would be a lot more to say about the trip, but I will only post pictures this time. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. In this
Peter's cabinPeter's cabinPeter's cabin

Just like Heidi!
case I could say it's worth a thousand calories!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

sunset on Lago di Gardasunset on Lago di Garda
sunset on Lago di Garda

Where they have the best tiramisu
Shopping for jewelryShopping for jewelry
Shopping for jewelry

Just joking of course
In FirenzeIn Firenze
In Firenze

I love that picture: the woman with the baby and the guy with a beer in the background!


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb