Spring, School, Stuttgart


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Coburg
May 6th 2005
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A serious downpourA serious downpourA serious downpour

view from my dorm room... I had only arrived home about 3 minutes before it started sprinkling, then raining then immediately pouring.
Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls: I have not fallen off the face of the earth… I’ve been busy. Gasp!! As hard as that may be to believe, you all know the saying that when it rains it pours, and I have long had the premonition that my severe lack of work at the beginning of my stay would result in its coming back to bite me in the tuchus later on.
So where on earth do I begin? For starters, it’s SPRING. ‘Bout damn time. We’ve had a lot of rainy days over the last 2 ½ weeks since you last heard from me… I saw some god-awful big snails, the kind that make you grimace in disgust. Sadly, I didn’t have my camera on hand, so I can’t share the face-making experience with you. We also had a couple of this-is-more-like-July days, where I sunburned. And the May flowers are all over!
A few school projects are approaching important deadlines, so I’ve been camped out with my pencil, paper and Photoshop. A few late nights of parties have, of course, taken place. And, of course, what would a month in the life of Rachel be like without another trip?
Esther invited a few of us down to her parents’ house in the Stuttgart vicinity, a town called Schlaitdorf, although only Kate and I were able to make it ultimately (ps, I don’t know why there’s no info on that webpage). We rode down in Esther’s car last Friday (April 29th), and arrived in time for dinner. And basically, the 3 of us took it *really easy* until Sunday midday. A lot of time was spent talking to each other, talking to Esther’s parents, Gretel and Dieter, playing musical instruments (or in my case, listening to everyone else), lounging in the sun and, ahem, shopping (no further comment). We explored the painfully cute town of Tübingen on Saturday evening (Esther’s boyfriend Michael joined us), and we ate so much ice cream I seriously thought I had gained 5 pounds (or should I say 2 kilos?) on the spot. When we finally decided to take in some serious culture, it was past noon on Sunday. En route back home we stopped in the town of Ludwigsburg to get a gander at the castle they keep there. It was enormous and imposing and everything a castle in Europe is, and the tour
Dieter ReifDieter ReifDieter Reif

yes, he is really playing the trumpet and the accordian at the same time.
lasted nearly two hours! But I did see something that tours like that don’t usually approach: we got to see the servants’ quarters. Man, right next to the regal and grand rooms of the nobles, it was downright pitiful! And it was the *lucky* commoners that got the chance to serve kings and queens.
We returned home tired, happy and in bad need of doing laundry. And since then, well, school. I’ve been working pretty hard on the project for the Melitta company because we will have a ‘Zwischenpräsentation’ (mid-crit) in early June with the representative. I’m a little freaked out about it, mostly because my German is nowhere near good enough to present *in* German. And otherwise, I’m getting ready to leave this afternoon for a day-and-a-half in Munich (which is just down the road a piece). Better go throw a toothbrush and pjs in my backpack… tchüβ!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

ShoppingShopping
Shopping

ooo... I know, this one'll look cool...
ShoppingShopping
Shopping

Alright! I'm a rock star!
TübingenTübingen
Tübingen

See? Painfully cute. I threw in some of the university students for good measure.
Ice creamIce cream
Ice cream

Kate and I asked if we could split one of the ice cream concoctions, and this is what they brought us.
Scloss LudwigsburgScloss Ludwigsburg
Scloss Ludwigsburg

Kate, some weird sculpture, and me


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb