Back at home, and things are still crazy.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Coburg
March 30th 2005
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HofbraeuhausHofbraeuhausHofbraeuhaus

a better view
Easter. Oh, my, I never would have guessed that an entire country could go on vacation all at once, but leave it to Germans to do the unthinkable, because here, every half-way important Catholic celebration is a bank holiday, too. Translation: Good Friday everything is closed. Saturday morning, it all opens back up, from 8 am to 2pm. Then everything closes again until Tuesday morning.
And *I* returned to “school” (I’ll use that term loosely) to find that… hey, I have Easter break, and I didn’t really miss any more than about 2 classes all week, anyway! Let me break it down for ya: officially, classes began on March 15th. For my particular major of Interior Architecture, that did not mean “classes,” that meant “presentations of final projects from last semester.” I don’t have any of those. So there went 4 days of “classes” down the tube. Then I was gone adventuring with the Jo(h)ns for the following week, but that’s ok, because classes were only held on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Because the school thought that after 7 days of classes, the students surely need a 6-day weekend. HUH? I do finally have a class tomorrow. 11:30 am. And then
Easter decorationEaster decorationEaster decoration

They dress up the fountains all around town for Easter, plant flowers all around the base of most of them... it's as much a decorating hubbub as Christmas is in the States.
I have an appointment at the computer center to get my computer back online (which will explain my lengthy delay in posting the last… 6 or so entries).



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

HofbraeuhausHofbraeuhaus
Hofbraeuhaus

pronounce that one if you dare. Eventually, they tell me, I'll have classes in this building, off the main campus (by about a 20 minute walk).


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb