Ardes Modellbau


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Coburg
August 1st 2005
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Herr Grämer has some of the coolest toysHerr Grämer has some of the coolest toysHerr Grämer has some of the coolest toys

That's the biggest damn tablesaw E-V-E-R.
So… about that storm of homework… 3 big projects, 2 little weeks and the computer is not being cooperative.
My big design project, the one I’m designing with the product design department and in cooperation with Melitta, has a final design, at long last, and in order to have a final model to show off, our teacher, Herr Kampe, arranged a pretty sweet deal with a modellbau (a workshop) that’s in Nürnberg (about an hour south of here). So, along came Saturday the 23rd and I carpooled down to the place with a few other students to jump into model making. I was totally flying by the seat of my pants, because I had no idea how I was even going to begin with this thing… it was supposed to turn out as a rubber placemat with a computer screen set into it!
Alexander Grämer, the owner and head operator of the Ardes Modellbau, helped me out in no time flat figuring out what to do, and I made slow, but serious and well informed headway to come out with the final product after 2 full weekends of work at it. In fact, the final Sunday, he left about 9pm and offered
Me using the 'Frizi'Me using the 'Frizi'Me using the 'Frizi'

That's german slang for a router. And an overhead-mounted one, too! (oh, I know, now I'm turning into a tech nerd...)
breakfast to anyone still awake and working the following morning! Anyhow, I am greatly indebted to him for all the help; I most certainly can’t use a gravity-feed spray gun with that sort of dexterity!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Here's Tim hard at work on the latheHere's Tim hard at work on the lathe
Here's Tim hard at work on the lathe

Kinda looks like a party with a lot of confetti, huh?
End of day 1End of day 1
End of day 1

I have the basic forms cut out. It may not seem like much, but that's cuz you can't see my awesome sanding job.
More toysMore toys
More toys

A totally cool lathe, it had every bell and whistle I could think of.
Gettin' closer...Gettin' closer...
Gettin' closer...

still a lot to do, but I finally have all the basic forms!
And the placemat part is, too.And the placemat part is, too.
And the placemat part is, too.

It's awful purty. It really is a shame it had to die.
The placemat mold in full swingThe placemat mold in full swing
The placemat mold in full swing

and a bewildered Conny looking on.
And now it just looks like a mess, franklyAnd now it just looks like a mess, frankly
And now it just looks like a mess, frankly

but it's a calculated one, I swear.
Getting the saucer mold into 2 piecesGetting the saucer mold into 2 pieces
Getting the saucer mold into 2 pieces

again, no idea what I was doing, I let the man at it.
The placemat mold is almost ready to goThe placemat mold is almost ready to go
The placemat mold is almost ready to go

...this is the part where the original died.
Now all we have to do is put plenty of pressure on it to keep the two sides in place!Now all we have to do is put plenty of pressure on it to keep the two sides in place!
Now all we have to do is put plenty of pressure on it to keep the two sides in place!

I had to take the whole thing home and wait until the following day to pull it out of the mold again, in the comfort of my own dorm room. I'll include pictures of the end product in the next blog.


Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb