Nürnberg


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hallo!

I had a wonderful weekend. Saturday I walked around Schwäbisch Hall just to get my bearings and I was also hoping to take pictures, but it was fairly overcast, so I'll save that for another day. I stocked up on food at the market and ended up cooking with a couple of my friends. It was fun, but the experience gave a more concrete meaning to the phrase "too many cooks in the kitchen" :-) We had two people who truely knew how to cook, and then one who is just learning. We just made pasta with a meat sauce, and then one guy made stir-fry as a side dish. It turned out pretty well and was fun for everyone. Cooking on the weekends will always be an experience to remember, I think.

Sunday I went with a group of students to Nürnberg, which is a nearby city. It took us a couple of hours by train, but just one day in the city was all we needed. The city was absolutely gorgeous and we were able to go inside one of the churches (shown here). I can't get over the architecture - it's so intricate. I can only imagine the work that went into building these structures. It rained almost all day long, so our itinerary consisted of mostly indoor activities. We visited the house of Albrecht Dürer. I don't know much about the guy, since my audio guide was in German, but I know that he was an artist and we didn't get to see any of his most famous works, because they're all in museums elsewhere, not in Nürnberg. A little odd if you ask me. Then we also went to a museum that showcased children's toys from throughout the decades. I was very interested to see how the toys have developed throughout the years. The ones from the war era took more imagination, fewer components due to lack of supplies, and were more creative than all the rest. We weren't allowed to take pictures, so I can't show you what I saw, but I'm sure you've seen antique toys before, so just imagine a four-story building filled with nothing but toys. Cool, huh? :-) For lunch on Sunday I had a dish called Käse-Spätzle, which is Spätzle with cheese. Saying it was like macaroni and cheese wouldn't do it justice, but essentialy that is what it was; this just happens to taste much better. :-)

The photo titled 'Good Luck!' is one of me turning a brass ring on a fence. Supposedly you'll have good luck if you turn it in the proper direction, counter-clockwise, I believe. Life has been good since, so maybe it worked. :-)

Well, I'm off to study. Enjoy the photos!

Annie

Advertisement



8th August 2006

pics
Great photos!
8th August 2006

Gluck!
Nurnberg looks beautiful. I'm not sure it qualifies as a close town, if it took you a couple of hours by train, but you're doing what I would...traveling on the weekends. Good for you. Sounds like we're going to have to perfect spaetzel making when you get back. Glad you're having fun. Love, Mom
9th August 2006

:)
That church is beautiful... did you get to see the inside of it? I bet that if the outside was that intricate then the inside much have been absolutely breath-taking. The toy places sounds pretty cool as well. Hopefully turning that brass ring will bring you some good luck. It was great hearing about your weekend adventures! Glad you are having a good time. :) Miss you.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb