Adjusting to Life at Reutlingen University


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Reutlingen
January 24th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We started classes this week. They seem like they'll all be fairly interesting but the way they're scheduled in is much different from my college schedule back at Valpo. It may be the change in friendships and the lack of cafeteria time that adds to this, as well. Instead of classes being spread out, they're all pretty well in a row and for longer periods of time. To add to the "blocked" feel, every class is in the same room. I think my favorite class will be German Economics because the professor is such an odd man (I mean this in the best way). He loves to joke and has a jolly chuckle that reminds me of a character from a book or movie. Very animated. He likes to pull out random strange facts about Americans or German life and say "you think I'm joking, I'm serious." When he says this he gets really quite and leans in like he's letting us in on some big secret about the world around us.

Earlier this week was really hard on me. Sometimes I feel like everyone came into this trip with a best friend and it's hard not to have that same deal. Some people are big time drinkers and some are whiners: both I have a hard time relating to. It makes me appreciate even more the wonderful family and friends I have back home and see even further how special they are. I finally got a phone system working to connect with family back home. I talked through a lot of it with my mom and felt better just hearing the voice of someone I'm so close to. I'm so blessed to have her and all others who are praying for me on this journey. God is my strength.

As the week went on things got more hopeful. My roommate, who acted out of control our first few nights here, has some really great qualities, too. She's growing on me and I'm actually glad for the chance to be roommates and get to know her better. Her name is Karen and she loves to laugh. I think she comes off as a bit of an airhead to some people, but I see that there's more to her. Last night she made some delicious Ravioli and shared her leftovers. It was nice to have a hot dinner, as its been a transition to cook for just myself in these beginning stages. She does stuff like a lot-very giving. After dinner we blasted the music in our dorm in between homework breaks. It was so much fun...we're thinking about heading out to the downtown Irish Pub for karaoke soon. 😊

Another discovery I made that is helping me to feel a little more settled is going for a run on the trails just beyond campus park. It's so safe and pretty. I now have a place to get out on my own and blow off a little energy. Last night, I went out and ran a loop several times and listened to music. So relaxing.

Tomorrow I'm headed out to Rhineland-Pfalz. The first night we're staying in the state's capital, Mainz. I hope it'll be a beautiful and fun experience. The group I'm traveling with doesn't exactly like to plan ahead so I'm not sure exactly what is to come! I'll be praying. It'll be an adventure.

So, all-in-all, I went from rock bottom to pretty good this week of daily life in Reutlingen. God always finds a way to lift me back up when I'm sinking. I am so thankful for all those praying back home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb