Visit to BASF site


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Mannheim
April 11th 2007
Published: April 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Right in the centre of Mannheim is a huge ornate water tower, it’s so old and yet so decorated you can’t believe it’s just a water tower. Well this was the only building left standing after the war. This city was flattened, there were no 2 bricks together after the allies bombed it and yet this enormous structure was untouched. I think the Poms should have taken better target practice. Before the war the BASF manufacturing site was both sides of the Rhine. One side Ludwigshaven and the other Mannheim. It was a prime target to hit because it was used the manufacture weapons. You might well ask "how do I know this stuff”? Well Pete and I went to BASF, to the recently opened Visitors Centre.
How fantastic was this. We were the first Australians to visit and it shows the history and development of the company.
The manufacturing site is enormous (employs 50,000 people). and covers many sq miles. The visitors centre has only been open for a week, so our timing was perfect.
After the tour I thought I would treat myself to the Day Spa at the hotel. A bit of relaxation and even an eyebrow wax to make me feel normal again. Well, they do things differently here - I was plucked one hair at a time !! - it must be the German way, and painful. After I was scrubbed, buffed and polished we set off for Cologne....




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb