The flower island of Mainau/great news!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Lake Constance
October 12th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Made the morning call to the Swiss railroad and guess what...........they said they had my laptop. Of course they weren't sure if it was in Konstanz, Zurich or Berne, but they knew they had it and would send more details in an eMail later today!!!!! What a relief !!!!!!

The flower island of Mainau is only a 20 minute boat ride from Meersburg or across a causeway from Konstanz and is really worth a visit. The round trip boat plus admission to the island is 21.20 Euros (close to $25.00). They had a guest comment form that asked when my last visit was and I hated to say that it was in 1969...tho I don't remember that much of it. I do remember that there are hot springs under the island which accounts for the fact that flowers bloom all year. Below the castle is a rose garden with at least 200 different types of roses. In a large adjoining hot house are all the plants and trees so common to south Florida, but pretty rare on an island at the base of the Alps! A short walk away is a 240' table with benches on each side with various flowers, trees and plants running down the center of the table. It is called the "Tavola Verde" and there are some neat rough wooden sculptures sitting, leaning or standing around the table. Once again the sun really came out in the afternoon which made the 3 hour stroll really enjoyable.

After riding back to the hotel, I sat at a lake side table in front of the hotel to enjoy a decadent warm apple strudel with ice cream and whipped cream when the hotel manager came out with an eMail for me. I could go to the Swiss side railroad station in Konstanz on Saturday to pick up my laptop!!!!!! Unbelievable. In any other part of the world that laptop would now be someone else's property, but thanks to Swiss honesty and reliability, they actually did recover it !!!!!!

Advertisement



20th October 2006

Wow!
It blows my mind that you are to be reunited with your laptop! Please tell me the secret that makes the Swiss so honest! Otherwise I am envying you your Lake Konstanz, your strudel, and yes, even your zeppelins! Continue to enjoy! (I get my new camera tomorrow...) ga
30th October 2006

Yuda luckiest guy
O, I am so happy that there are honest people in this world.....That sure was lucky for you....and I hope you give them a bit of a reward.....wonderbar........Sounds like you are having a great trip...I am home today with an aching back ...pulled muscle or something....but still nice to be home for a day....no money, tho.....Enjoy my friend, it is LATER than we THINK.....luv ya...Linda Chacha

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb