On Lake Constance


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Lake Constance
October 10th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today, I decided to take the boat 3 stops to Friedrickshafen to visit the Zeppelin Museum.
After the typical German hotel breakfast of cold cuts, cheese, a hard boiled egg, yogurht, juice and coffee I walked down the sea promenade for the 10:02 boat. The lake was a bit foggy, but an hour later, I was in Fried. and the museum was directly across the street from the boat dock. Having paid a small admission, I first came across a great history of the Zeppelins (including the USA efforts) then walked up some aircraft type stairs and found myself in a full size replica of a corridor with cabins on both sides which were uppers and lowers with a sink (definately no shower and I couldn't figure where they might have a commode). Down another corridor and I found myself in a lounge area with large windows to look down on the passing scenery, a writing room/library and a corner of the dining room. WOW!!!! Unlike today, the passenger areas were built into the "balloon" portion of the Zeppelin with basically just the bridge and navigation in that portion you always see on the bottom, like today's blimps. I asked at the desk if I could get a seat on the new airship (which carries some 14 passengers in that bottom cabin), but was told that they were completly sold out for the week. Hell, I'd have been willing to pay the $190.00 they charge for a 30 minute ride!. Later, I walked around the city then on another boat for the hour ride to Meersburg. The hotel manager called the Swiss railroad people who said they had nothing, but not to give up hope that the laptop would be found.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb