Heidelberg vs Frankfurt?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Heidelberg
July 30th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So if there were a contest between Heidelberg and Frankfurt in which had the prettier city, Heidelberg would win hands down. Which had more sights to see? Heidelberg. Which had friendlier people? Heidelberg. Where was the better hostel? Heidelberg. (And I stayed at two different ones in Frankfurt.)

I arrived Monday afternoon in Frankfurt to a roaring thunderstorm. In between torrential downpours, I made my way to my hostel, Five Elements. The hostel itself wasn't bad, but it was humid, and a bit musty in the bathrooms. Due to the rain, and questionable neighbourhood, I didn't venture out past 8pm. Sightseeing wasput aside, because I knew I'd be back to the city.

Tuesday was also expected to be rainy, but fortunately it held off for mist of the day in Heidelberg. I arrived at my hostel early (after a squished bus ride to the old town) and was greeted by a friendly host and told my bed was ready. Then I ventured out to the castle, taking the funicular up to it. I didn't realise that the castle was mostly in ruins, but it gave a great view of the Old Town, and some neat photo ops. Making my way to the main street if old town, there were many old buildings, a church with a tower you climb to the top of, and lits of stores and restaurants. Very picturesque. At the far edge of Old Town, I crossed a bridge to look at the view from the other side. As I made my way along the edge of the ricer, I decided to forego the Philosopher's Walk with the pretty viewpoints, as the clouds were darkening and I'd heard a prediction of thunderstorms. I managed to cross over the other bridge back into Old Town, before any rain came. I wandered some more, looking for sights on the map I'd missed, and looking at souvenirs. It finally started to rain around 7pm and I headed back to the hostel. I wanted to rest a bit before swing dancing later that night!

The swing dancing in Heidelberg wasn't fantastic for me. The people there all knew each other, and I was a bit disappointed that they didn't speak to me. I finally asked someone to dance, but instead if dancing two in a row like they tended to do there, I was off on the sidelines again. I asked again a few more times, but I found it really uninviting to out-of-towners.

I returned to Frankfurt today, and headed to a different hostel. Once I finally found the place, I left my luggage and went exploring. The S-bahn and U-bahn are very confusing, even for a seasoned traveller like me. I made my way to the Old Town, and when I emerged from the U-bahn, I couldnt get my bearings. Tried to find the Rathaus (Town Hall) and discovered it in a pretty square with half-timbered buildings. Unfortunately that was about all the sights to see. I tried to follow the walking tour to other "sights to see" and discovered them really lacking in interest. After about an hour of wandering (and going to the 1 Euro store to look around), I went back to the hostel to properly check in. That's when I found out that the washer was broken (Ack!) and had to wash a few things by hand.

Fortunately, the girls I met in my room were very nice. The two Korean girls had invited me to a concert, which I turned down; instead, and two Canadian girls and I went for dinner. It was nice to tell travel stories and share experiences. And the food was pretty good!

Tomorrow I need to check out my 11am, but can leave my luggage here. That's a good thing since my flight isn't until evening. I may try one more round of sightseeing in another part of the city before I fly out. Then I'm off to the UK to see friends!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb