“It was just fried pineapple!”


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Heidelberg
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post


But oh, was it sssooo good!

Drizzled with honey and a scope of vanilla ice cream, I sat there at the Thai restaurant, eating this dessert that was like an aphrodisiac. And I mean that literally.

My husband and I went touring around the city of Heidelberg, near the Universtät and the infamous Heidelberg castle, and found a Thai restaurant surrounded by other eateries from different countries. We decided to eat outside and enjoy the European lifestyle of relaxation. No rush, even after you pay for your meal. I had Moo Nam Tok - cold beef salad - and my husband had Green Curried Beef. Everything from that to the wanton soup was well seasoned and delectable.

We had fun venturing out on our own. I met my husband after work, by taking the shuttle bus from the post, and we continued to the last stop, where we got off, and with the help of a fellow passenger, got on a tram that took us to another bus depot in the middle of the city of Heidelberg.

“I understood her German.”

Another woman who got off the tram with us, was trying to find out where we wanted to go. The places she called off, I couldn’t recognize because we weren’t really looking for a special place to go to. I took out my translation book, trying to find the correct phrase. I remembered “Wo ist…?” but was the word “restaurant”, actually “restaurant”? In the midst of everything, she was telling us that where we were was a depot, and any of these buses could take us to where we wanted to go to. She pointed out one bus that came by, that would take us to the University, where there were many restaurants to choose from. We thanked her in German and ran across the street to catch the bus.

We got off the bus, and walked around taking pictures of the houses alongside the Neckar River, the Bridge and far off in the distance, the castle. Our last stop. The Thai restaurant, where we sat down and ate, fell in love with the city, our lives and each other. We were on a date, in Germany; and this promised to be the start of many dates to come. Because I am going to enjoy every day, and enjoy every dish - trying the new, mixed in with the old. Finally remembering the phrase “Wo ist hier ein gutes Restaurant?”

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb