First Solo Journey--Heidelberg, the Perfect Host


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Heidelberg
April 7th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

March 28, 2008--While I went to Italy for eight days of break, I still had over a week left until my other classmates got back. The two girls I traveled with then haven't been very interested in travel, so I only went on one trip with them. On that trip with them I experienced a bit of Switzerland on a day trip to Zurich. Switzerland has so much to offer, but at least a seeing a little slice of it was nice, especially on the day I visited. The snow fell softly over the city, blanketing the bare trees and making the chilled city more magical. While strolling through the streets we experienced one of Zurich's claims to fame--the biggest clock face on a church tower.
Since then I've decided to to take my adventures into my own hands. I went to Tubigen one day, but the flowers weren't out yet so I plan on going back. Yesterday I took an afternoon/evening trip to Heidelberg, Germany. My experience in Heidelberg was one of peace and growth. I walked down Heidelberg's main strip, about a fifteen minute walk from the train station, on my way back to Heidelberg's old church and the Schloss Heidelberg (castle). The church is beautiful on the outside and simpler yet still holy feeling on the inside. It was there that I had some special time with God while I posted a prayer for strength and growth on the church's prayer wall. I like this idea so much. It's a way to lift your prayer up to God among others while still having your personal moment. I felt fellowship for the first time in a while since being in Europe.
After leaving the church, I rushed up the nearby cobblestone path to the city's famed castle to catch the last of the English speaking tours of the day. On the tour we got to see some of the remaining rooms, decorated as they were hundreds of years ago, and also the ruins. Much of the castle was destroyed in the 1600's, after being bombed twice and even struck by lightening twice! Some of the "rooms" we walked through had missing walls or a missing roof. While on the tour I chatted with a man from Arizona. He was there on a business and he brought along his daughter-in-law. He joked that if I were to get him in any of my pictures that I shouldn't go selling them on ebay, claiming to have seen George Lopez. Ha. He was actually somewhat accurate in both personality and looks. It was the biggest blessing to go on this English speaking tour--everyone was friendly and enthusiastic--what you'd expect people experiencing Europe to act like. I haven't felt as much of that excitement with my previous travel mates.
Also in the castle is the world's biggest wine barrel. The many inhabitants of the castle,including royalty, noblemen and knights, consumed about 500 gallons of wine a day! The water was too dirty to drink. At the barrel, I met some English speaking tourists from Toronto who took my picture next to the wine barrel. They were very sweet. The woman kept calling me "Love" and the man who is a well traveled pilot kept going on about the movie "Motorcycle Diaries" where one of the scenes takes place in Valparaiso, Chile. Ha. It was great.
When I got back that night I called my parents to tell them about the adventure. Mom told me that she had been praying that I'd meet some friendly English speaking people to talk to. What a God Thing! God is in control; He is with me every step of this Eurooean experience. He brings growth and restoration through the hard situations. As I travel to Luxembourg tomorrow, I guess I am not traveling solo...God is with me always. 😊 What a wonderful blessing and promise from the maker of the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb