More from Rouen


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Rouen
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

A view of RouenA view of RouenA view of Rouen

I took this pic as I was walking down to Roen from Mont Saint Aignan where my rez is.
Bonjour,
Everything is still well with me here in Rouen and I hope the same goes for all of you back home. I finally started classes last week and I must say that I do not enjoy having all three hour long classes; they feel like they go on forever, but oh well that’s how they do it here. The big difference between classes here and classes at home is that the French students all talk during the lectures. They have conversations with each other( which are not relevant to the lecture) and they don’t even whisper it is at a pretty normal volume. Some of my professors have very thick French accents and although they classes are in English I find it very difficult to concentrate and understand the professors with all the background noise. It is very distracting. A French girl in my class told me that it happens here in France and the Professors don’t say or do anything about it because the students are paying to be in the class. If students did that at home during class they would be kicked out! Alright, so that is my little rant about that- it is a culture
My Room is rezMy Room is rezMy Room is rez

It is small but nice- and I only share a bathroom with one other girl so that is good.
adjustment I will have to make. Oh yes! And speaking about culture adjustments!!! I love France, but everyone back home should really remember to appreciate how nice it is to NOT be able to smoke in public places!!! Everyone smokes in France and it is completely socially acceptable unlike home. The cute little cafes and neat pubs are filled with smoke and I am not used to it now and it kills me. Also French people who have had a bit too much to drink and have a cigarette in their hand can be a bit dangerous!!! I got burned at a bar last week because some girl wasn’t watching what she was doing!!!
I spent the weekend of January 26th in Rouen just relaxing after my trip to Paris. I spent some time in downtown Rouen, shopping and even seeing a movie. It was in English with French subtitles- again good for me, but not helpful in the language learning department. I did have one little adventure this weekend. I was in downtown Rouen and I got on the wrong bus to get back up to my res. I ended up in I don’t know where so I
My Room is rezMy Room is rezMy Room is rez

My rez is called Ango and most of us living here are international students.
asked a lady at a bakery how I could get back. She didn’t know but, luckily there was a lady standing in line behind me that spoke English and offered to drive me back- Thank goodness!! It was nice to just take it easy this weekend and I also I thought I should stay back and do some homework as I have many travel plans ahead.
Gotta run though- I must walk down to the market in downtown Rouen. It is this huge outdoor market selling everything- fresh veggies, cheese, bread, wine, shoes, clothes, flowers! I love it.
Au revoir!!! For now that is- I will keep you all updated.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

PartyingPartying
Partying

Nick, Me and Kaley out at a party.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb