First day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Le Havre
February 10th 2015
Published: February 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As we arrived at Alison's house, I realized how remote it was. It's a little farm property, something you might see behind elk lake. She has a few chickens and geese and three goats. Her backyard is half Christmas tree farm, half paddocks for the 4 horses: 2 ponies and 1 rescue that is just boarding with her, and her own mare. Apparently, I'll be able to ride eventually, which should be interesting 😊

I didn't really understand when Alison told me she was preparing my room for me. I thought maybe she was cleaning it or something, which would have been amazing, but, I realize now that she was actually renovating part of the house where I would be staying. So, my room is beautiful! It's all newly painted, and accented with lilac colours. Just as I was arriving, Pascal, my host father was putting together the final touches. Alison helped him assemble the dresser.

As I started unpacking, all of it started to feel real. Before that, I felt floaty.

Valerie, My host mom, was super nice and welcomed me like another daughter and Pascal was exactly the same.

We all chatted around the table at lunch and I'm glad I could joke around and understand the little things they said.

It's 7 now, and we're all sitting around chatting again and they're having wine/whiskey/water.

I'm not sure what tomorrow will bring, I've got a few hours of school, but thats it 😊

Hope everyone is doing well back home,

-Madi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb