Whats New in SGL!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
September 26th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK so I know everyone wants to hear how things are going over here in France so im stealing a little time to write a note.

I got ito Paris just fine and spent a night there. I traveled to Lyon and got here in the afternoon yesterday. The principal of the school picked me up and we went directly to the school. Its in Saint-Genis-Laval which is right outside of Lyon. Its on top of the hill so I can see the Alps to the west on a clear day!!!!!!!! This morning when I woke up there was a rooster crowing even lol! But its not that rural. Its kinda like Palatine but a bit smaller.

The school has about 20 classrooms of kids ages 5-10ish and hopefully Ill be able to visit everyone! I went and intorduced myself to each class earlier today and it went well. Some of the kids know English and some have even traveled to the US! It looks like I will have a well thought out schedule of which class what day and in which school (cuz i work at all 3 schools in the town!)....I guess I will just be intergrated into the teachers lesson plans and they can use my <> in English to help the kids pronunciation and also share some stories about my day to day life. I will most def have a hard time learning everyones names!

I have met a few kids here and they are so friendly! Always asking me <> and <> and one little girl, Malvina, said I only had a <> accent!!!! Im sure they will be a bit more comfortable with me later on in the year.

Im going to meet some of the other assistants from Lyon in Lyon for dinner tomorrow and hopefully that will go well. I will also hopefully have my bank account set up and my cell phone by the end of the weekend so ill give you guys my number soon!

Only one problem so far....when I got to my apartment (which is pretty big i was shocked...ill post pics later) there was no electricity! but the nice neighboor next door invited me for dinner and lent me some candles lol! Dinner was an amazing Vietnamese soup and some rice and of course wine and to finish (comme d'hab or as usual he he) cheese!!!! Hopefully the elctricity will be back on when i get back today so i can take a hot shower and not luke warm lol!

Thats it for now but when i get a moment i'll write more. Prob start a travel blog or something so its not always on facebook.

Miss you all and I hope everythings great where you are and let me know whats going on! You guys are my outlet to the US so send me pics or letter (once i get my address) or emails! Have a great weekend and I'll talk to you all soon I hope!

Bisous! (kisses!!!!)
Shelley

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb