Fall Break Part 2: Toulon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Toulon
October 30th 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The only way I know what region to choose when I'm writing these blogs is because I know what wine region I was in. France. Wine. Duh.

SO. I'm really slacking on these posts, and now I'm going to Prague tomorrow (secret: it's actually November 14, and I'm just lazy and backdated this entry).

Toulon. Yes. I went there. I left Lyon at some ungodly hour of the morning. Carine dropped me at the metro where I successfully got myself to the train station and unsuccessfully took three tries to print out my ticket at the machine because when the touchscreen is an inch away from the glass you're touching and there doesn't seem to be a backspace, it takes you about 10 minutes to print out a ticket you already paid for. Also, way too early in the morning.

I got on the train and found a seat (these seats weren't actually assigned. I swear). The train had little cabins out of Eurotrip or Harry Potter. I was expecting Mr. Bean to sit across from me and kept checking the hall to see if the trolley witch was going to show up with chocolate frogs. Neither of those happened. I was really bummed about the lack of trolley witch (side note. I looked up the name of the trolley witch. Turns out she doesn't have a name. Weird, right?)

The four hour train ride from Lyon to Marseilles was gorgeous. French countryside, landscape, hills, lakes, the Mediterranean, blah blah. But actually I spent the whole time looking out the window or doing KenKens (it's super fun. Stop judging me). I got of the train at Marseille and immediately regretted not packing any shorts. It was the end of October, but also the south of France. I guess I just know nothing about climate. Oops. I got some food and went to the platform for my one hour train to Toulon. I got on the train, but this one was much less comfortable with nowhere to put my bag except on the seat next to me. After the train was supposed to leave some announcement happened. Thankfully I don't speak any French, so I had to ask people what was happening. The doors to the car I was in weren't closing, so we had to move to another car.

If I have ever said I was packed into a place like cattle, that has nothing on this train. When you take a double decker train car and move them to other train cars, you're not gonna have enough room. I stood in front of the bathroom, and every time someone had to get off the train, they had to climb over my suitcase, or the man sitting across from me/I was standing pretty much on him had to lift my suitcase so the person could get by. Plus sweaty humidity. I was really glad I got a view of the Mediterranean the whole time. That was nice.

I arrived to Toulon...eventually. And then I saw Noah and we had an amazing reunion of Colorado kids who haven't seen each other in a while and both hate humidity. We took the bus to his house and walked up this crazy long and steep hill that he has to deal with every day (exercise! yay!) Basically at the top of the hill you see...MOUNTAINS. RIGHT THERE. SO PRETTY. We went to his house which is a kitchen, his room, and his roommate's room. And the bathroom. Also a pool. That overlooks the mountains. Yup. The first thing we did was jump in the pool because humidity. Gross. We splashed around in the pool in the south of France and kept saying things like "the south of France." Then I realized I hadn't eaten all day so we went to the supermarket and got some food and I got to pick out the wine, but we were in France so it took me like 10 minutes because I was so amazed at how cheap all the amazing French wine was. When we got back Noah made us delicious pasta, and we enjoyed the wine. Also we got a baguette and cheese because, once again, France.

Then we decided to go out. Noah took me down to the harbor, which I got really excited about because it was my first time being near the Mediterranean, and boats and water and harbors are my favorites. We sat down in a restaurant next to the harbor and got creme brulee because Noah had never had it before. So that obviously needed to happen. Then we went to a pub and had some wine and talked. It was a really nice relaxing night. Then we went home and slept until about 10:00 the next day.

We woke up on...Tuesday. Yes. Here's what I learned about France on Tuesday. Things are just randomly closed all the time. People who own businesses just either decide to close, or not serve hot food. Whatever tickles their fancy at the moment. So when Noah and I went to a Brasserie at 11:00 looking for...anything, we got served a cold sandwich (which was delicious) and espresso. No hot food because...reasons. So it goes, I suppose (teehee rhymes).

After breakfast Noah and Rachel had to do bureaucratic things, so I tagged along and we ended up going to a cafe for more coffee and lunch. The woman who ran the place kept yelling French at us even though Noah and Rachel speak good French. Rude. But then her really fat old dog came over and I obviously fell in love and whenever I pet him he squealed like a guinea pig. No joke. Eventually the woman decided she liked us (?) and gave us all free espressos. I'll take it.

Bureaucracy blah blah blah. Moving on.

Noah and I went on a hunt for CREPES. YES. I wanted some french crepes. We FAILED. No crepes. So we went to a pub next to the Mediterranean and drank lots of wine. Rachel joined up with us again and we played pool, and it was a great night. Then Noah and I went to get dinner. After walking literally in circles, we found a place that looked decent. We went in, realized it was expensive, and decided to splurge on a three course meal. WORTH IT. There was a three course menu with two choices for each course, so we just ordered the whole menu. Salmon, chevre, more salmon, super rare steak au poivre, creme brulee, and chocolate mousse. Oh. My. God. Then the owner gave us free shots. Cue food coma.

We woke up Wednesday morning. BEACH DAY. YES. We first got some morning crepes, which were delicious. Then we walked over to a little bay cove area in the Sea. Holy crap the Mediterranean is SALTY. I never knew that was a thing. Noah and I hung out in crazy deep water and barely had to tread. We played games because whenever I'm (*cough. everybody*) in the water, I turn into a small child and want to play games. It was a gorgeous day and a gorgeous beach. Also there was randomly a topless woman, because of course there was. After the beach we went back to Noah's where I packed up. Noah and Rachel took me to the train station.

Also, Noah is now meeting me in Amsterdam for New Year's. What whatttt.

Au revoir!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb