A Drinker's Guide to St. Tropez: Day 5


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 5 is what happens when you don't follow the advice I have been giving out. I woke up around 2pm and went down to the pool. I got a perrier and a lounge chair. I spent an hour or two lying in the sun reading the Herald Tribune (mostly articles about Russia/Georgia) and took a quick dip in the pool. After I went down to the Spar in town, which is configured as just a plain small supermarket not the lovely all purpose store we had enjoyed in Ireland (sorry Kev, no breakfast baps). I got a large bottle of perrier at the Spar then took a sandwich from one of the carts near Place De Lices. I was not pleased in the room as it was still trashed, it was filled with cigarette smoke and the half filled bloody marys mocked me from the room service tray. I called for housekeeping and tried to sit in the lobby with the paper until they finished. After walking to the lobby my hangover really kicked in with a vengeance. I asked the concierge for some advil and felt like I was going to faint as I reached to take it from him. I had been hangover free since Iceland and apparently it had all been gathering and building for this one unpleasant afternoon. I decided I couldn't handle the lobby or a newspaper so I went back to my room and sat there as housekeeping made it up. I spent most of the day lying in bed watching CNBC, it was not my finest hour. I had some very mediocre room service for dinner (the Byblos doesn't have very good food) and managed to catch a Conan re-run on CNBC-Europe before passing out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb