The Religious side of Brugge


Advertisement
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our first stop was St John's Hospital which used to be run by nuns. It has since been transformed into a museum with lots of religious paintings and relics. Angele takes longer going through museums than I do, so I entertained myself in the kid's colouring corner and coloured some pictures (For days after I had the urge to buy pencil crayons and colouring books!) After, we went into the Church of Our Lady. It is famous for housing the only Michaelangelo to leave Italy, and it is beautiful even though most of the church is under construction. It was the most welcoming church yet, not just another tourist site. It just had this atmosphere about it. We stopped for a waffel with strawberries and cream for lunch then it was off to the lace museum and Jeruselum church. The church was pretty and very tiny compared to all the cathedrals we've visited. The lace museum was also interesting, but the fun part is when you walk into this back room. There are lace making demonstrations, it is full of old and some young ladies sitting in their little desks making lace. It amazed me how hast their hands moved in this complicated process of following a pattern with pins and strings on wooden spools. It gave me a new appreciation for lace. Our last stop of the day was the Church of the Holy Blood. It possesses a relic claming to contain the bood of Jesus Christ, but as it was not Friday, we didn't get to see it. Nope no touching of the crusty clotted Jesus blood in an ornameted glass vial. 😞

Amie

Advertisement



14th September 2006

I remember the vial.......
hey, I am glad they are starting to make the churches more welcoming and not just a tourist trap. I know that always bothered me about visiting them. I remember that vial of blood in the church. I was crazy to be part of the experience when it was brought out. People were so into it..... Cheers, Cathy

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb