Bruges


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Saint-Raphael » Brugge
September 19th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

“If I grew up on a farm, and was retarded, Bruges might impress me but I didn't, so it doesn't.” - Colin Farrell (In Bruges)

Bruges....what a city. Friendly people, great food (only in some places) and fantastic architecture. What did I do in Bruges? Walked and walked and walked some more. It’s great to get lost in this little gem of a city and even better if you pretend like you’re in the “dark ages”. I was also able to rent a bike and just ride all around the county. Riding through suburbs of some small towns feeling like I was a 12 year old kid again or through the woods past the old castles or through the dairy farms watching the horses and cattle. In Bruges, it doesn’t matter that the streets are flooded with tourists or backpackers, or if there are no famous museums or any of that kind. The beauty of the city and the friendliness of the locals make it a very special city. Here’s a cliche that’s very true...when in belgium, eat the waffles and the chocolate.

Saturday night in Bruges....a shit-show to say the least. I have spent most of my nights having a beer with buddies from Germany discussing politics or mates from Australia conversing about cultural differences and even wine with friends under the Eiffel tower. But Saturday night means it’s time to get rowdy (it’s the life of 20 somethings...and I am also celebrating passing my PT license exam). So after some drinking games at the bar with a group of 5 British friends who were having a fun weekend away from London and 3 Brazilian girls who were living in Ireland we went to the local club. I was given the nickname “America” or “New Yawk” and that's how I would be known to them. The British kids reminded me of my friends at home and at one point I was floored with a mix of emotions. Initially sadness because I miss my friends dearly but then a smile peeks through because I know there are others out there like us and that I will see them all again in some time.

It’s funny traveling around and meeting so many new people. You meet people and you become very close, very quickly. With some people you feel like you’ve known them for 2 years when in reality it’s only been 2 days. It’s great to know you can finding good friends no matter where you are. The hard part is leaving....and it sometimes is very hard. For some days you pour every inch of your heart out to them (and them to you) only to find out that they have a train the next morning. A quick goodbye and sometimes a facebook exchange and you are all alone again. It’s a roller coaster of feeling like you have all the company you need one second to strict solitariness. I suppose it’s the life of a backpacker and one that I wouldn’t change for a second.

Anyway, after a quick 2 days in Bruges (all that is necessary) it’s on to Amsterdam. A somewhat familiar city, as I have been there before with my friend Derek. However, that feels like a couple of lifetimes ago and I look forward to visiting a second time. Watching the beautiful Belgian and now Dutch countryside listening to the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s “Fever To Tell” to get myself ready for what I think will be a little more party and a little less “tourism”.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb