Brugge in a day


Advertisement
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BikesBikesBikes

This is the sight that greeted us when we got off the train. It's actually a relatively common sight at train stations in Belgium. Lot's of people ride bikes.
OK. So I've been in Belgium for 24 hours now, what to do next? Hop a train to Brugge. Brugge is a very old Medieval city, with lots of great buildings, streets, towers, and markets. I don't really feel like writing about it right now (honestly, I'm posting this blog about a month after I visited the city) so I'll just show you the photos.

You may be wondering about the ice festival. Yes, that was my idea. I found it on the internet before I left the U.S., and I had to go. I know, I know, it's kind of hokey, but I've never seen an ice sculpure festival before. Personally, I really enjoyed it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Ice SlideIce Slide
Ice Slide

This was a slide made of ice, and yes, that's me going down it. I think it was for kids, but sometimes I think I'm still a kid too.
More Ice SculptureMore Ice Sculpture
More Ice Sculpture

No, I'm not a tourist.
Through the IceThrough the Ice
Through the Ice

Took this photo through one of the walls made of ice.
Me at the Ice FestivalMe at the Ice Festival
Me at the Ice Festival

We had to get a picture in front of this one...see the mug of beer over my head. Caroline called this pose the "sorority squat".
The Ice BarThe Ice Bar
The Ice Bar

At the ice festival, they had a bar made of ice. You could get everything from vodka to coffee.
The Market in BruggeThe Market in Brugge
The Market in Brugge

The market was much bigger than this, but I took this photo because this stand sold live chickens, ducks, geese, etc.
Brugge SquareBrugge Square
Brugge Square

The big square in Brugge.
Where am I?Where am I?
Where am I?

Can you find me in this photo?
CanalCanal
Canal

One of the many canals in Brugge.
God and BoozeGod and Booze
God and Booze

See the liquor in the window? So close to the stature of the monk.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb