Gordes, & departing France


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I took a "shower" so as not to flood the place again, and after breakfast we went to see the Village des Bories, which is an outdoor museum of ruins of a variety of stone buildings from the 12th century that were built without mortar or cement of any kind. The stones just stay together based on how they are pieced together and gravity. Next we made a rather short stop in the village of Gordes to see the markets there and get some shots of the village, which is perched nicely upon the hills. We got the best "postcard" pictures of the shoot (in France) there. Gordes is a very lovely village, but contrasts greatly to Goult, where we're staying. Gordes sees thousands of tourists a day, while Goult sees a few hundred. Gordes is touristy, while Goult is sleepy. We went back to Goult to pack up and have a light lunch, and our taxi showed up at 2pm to take us back to the airport in Marseilles. At the airport, during our hour long wait, it was quite warm in the terminal, and I wanted to get something to drink, and a 20oz bottle of ice tea cost me the equivalent of $5.50. I don't think I've ever been so ripped off in my life, but this place was the only place to buy a drink beyond security. So after the highway robbery we flew on to Gatwick and then to Manchester to spend the night. Lisa, our guide in Manchester, and her husband Stuart, had some of our extra bags and came to our hotel and dropped them off for us, and we had a drink and a late dinner, and it was fun to see them again. Our flight to Chicago leaves tomorrow at 11am. Our time in Provence was the most relaxed of the trip, which was much appreciated, but obviously traveling for work is nothing like traveling for vacation and I can't say I fully experienced Provence, so I guess I'll have to go back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb