The Jet Set life for me!


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woolly says – I could get used to this jet set lifestyle on the French Rivera, we spent yesterday sunning on the beach, my tan is coming on well and I felt that I fitted in well with the cosmopolitan place we were in.



Well if you discount the hundreds of Brit’s around not to mention the Italian’s, French, Austrian and a variety of others it was pretty cosmopolitan. Camping de la Plague was good, old but clean facilities, right on the beach and we would happily stayed another night if the bar had closed at a reasonable time! It was a shame, they had a live group on who were really good, we sat in the tent bopping away with Woolly doing his best Elvis impressions and we were happy campers. By 2am we had had enough and had made the decision to up sticks and move on.



Woolly says – to make up for my disappointment we made our first stop of the day into St. Tropez itself. A quiet place filled with gorgeous boats, a wander along the harbour left me wondering which one I would choose. I found several contenders but when Ian explained how they work the costs out, one metre for one million euro, I think I might have to save a little more before I make my final decision. With coffee prices needing a second mortgage we headed back to Oliver and set forth for my next jet set destination, Cannes. I wondered if they had kept my award for me?



With Woolly dreaming of the capital of film festivals we headed back into the mountains and the tremendous views of the non-coastal parts of the area. Driving through Cannes was not what we expected.



Woolly says – I loved the views and the windy roads through the mountains, Cannes, well I’m sorry but you can keep it and my award. With cars parked all along the front we could see peeks of the small strip of sand that draws the rich and famous, not even an ice cream seller could be seen, what sort of resort is this? Going further into the city I became more disillusioned, traffic everywhere and not even a pretty building to gaze at, let’s move on.



It wasn’t quite what we have waited for and the plan to stay for the night went out of the window as we hit the mountain roads again, with sheer drops on Ian’s side Woolly and I thought the views were tremendous. Antibes here we come.



Woolly says – it’s another town on the coast, where are all these rich and famous people? We found Le Logis de la Brague in Antibes with no problems and were shown to our pitch by the nicest old French man who chatted away completely oblivious to the fact that Jo and I understood not a word. Set up was quick and easy so we headed to the beach, not the sand of further down the coast but big pebbles and people were lying there, I tried it and decided that pebble sunbathing wasn’t going to work for me. We had collected some leaflets from reception when we were checking the prices – 18 Euros a night (approximately £16.70 GBP), and 20 euros for motorhomes – and found one on the Aqua park which is next door. Our excitement knew no bounds, a day of playing in pools and on slides while sunning ourselves. Good job Ian read the small print as it doesn’t open for another week!



Changing plans is becoming a daily occupation and Ian hit the nail on the head for this change. Stay two nights and catch the train to Monaco tomorrow, no worries about parking and it means an extra night in our next country, what can go wrong!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



7th June 2013

Antibes is our favorite destination on the Riviera...
we visited many times. Interestingly, very few blogs have been posted from there...everyone goes to Nice for some strange reason.
7th June 2013

It's really nice
The beach is a bit pebblely but it's a nice place to be

Tot: 0.629s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 52; qc: 182; dbt: 0.3167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb