Arrival


Advertisement
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


A toast to a new semester!A toast to a new semester!A toast to a new semester!

Ben couldn't resist getting a German beer, even if it was in the Munich airport.
Hey Everyone!
I hope this works! Arriving here in Aix-en-Provence was/still is incredible. The town is beautiful with bunches of cobblestone winding streets that I will probably never figure out. There are so many amazing fountains, bread shops, and of course places to grab a café or a thé. My school is situated in a historical chapel. From the outside you can't tell, but from the inside, the vaulted ceilings and the intricate designs on the walls make it obvious. Classes are held in that building, as well as one up the road in a small square and around the corner in an amazing courtyard. Lunch is available at many a fine boulangerie, or maybe a patisserie? (bread and pastry shops) Of course today I went to neither of those places and opted for the pick your pasta and pick your topping lunch at Mezzo Pasta. Très Delicieux!!!
Classes start tomorrow at noon, and I happen to have the first one (Psychology) in the beautiful courtyard classroom (I think that one may be my favorite because of beautiful ivy crawling up the entrance of the small courtyard and the marvelous gate entrance). Luckily my classes (all but French) are in English,
Cathedral ceilingCathedral ceilingCathedral ceiling

Inside the 13th century cathedral across the square from the school
but that doesn't mean I won't get my fill of the language! My host mom, Camille, does not speak any English, but is the cutest little French woman ever! The only downside with living with her is that Ben and I are the farthest students away from the school. There's no problem though because the walk is nice and the latest gossip is that we get bus passes : ).
So since I've been here, I've learned that Aix-en-Provence is merely a synonym for awesome and that this is gearing up to be a great semester.

Au Revoir!
Libby


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hôtel VilleHôtel Ville
Hôtel Ville

The town hall of Aix-en-Provence
One of the many fountainsOne of the many fountains
One of the many fountains

So this doesn't look spectacular, but this fountain is a baby compared to some of the others
Fire shotsFire shots
Fire shots

Ok, so maybe not the most tasteful of pictures, but these were amazing on our first night out "exploring"


27th January 2009

About the shots...
Can we get those at Hank's?!!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb